MozillaZine

Firefox 60 on Linux: no sound with youtube videos

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Norre13
 
Posts: 4
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2018, 12:25 am

Yesterday I have installed Firefox 60. When I visit any youtube videos, there is no sound. If I switch back to Firefox 59.0.3 I get the youtube videos including sound.

I have checked the »Troubleshooting Information« and I found out that the value for »Media Audio Backend« is different between FF 60 and FF59.0.3
FF 60: remote
FF 59.0.3: pulse-rust
I don't know if this is relevant.

Do I have to change some configurations in order to hear sound with FF 60? If you need more details, please let me know.

Any help would be appreciated :-)

Cheers,
Norbert

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3893
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 15th, 2018, 3:55 am


Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12040
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted May 15th, 2018, 4:09 am

Which Linux Operating System - FF60 shows as remote on this system but the link below has sound.
In about:config see if media.eme.enabled is set to true - also in Edit/Preferences is the DRM block checked?
See if this link works Rodney Dangerfield

Norre13
 
Posts: 4
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2018, 10:53 am



Yes, pulseaudio is running. As I said, there is NO problem with sound up to version 59.0.3. It is only version 60.0 where I do not have sound.

Norbert

Norre13
 
Posts: 4
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2018, 12:21 pm

Grumpus wrote:Which Linux Operating System - FF60 shows as remote on this system but the link below has sound.

Debian Jessie (8.0)

Grumpus wrote:In about:config see if media.eme.enabled is set to true - also in Edit/Preferences is the DRM block checked?

media.eme.enabled is set to true and DRM block is checked

Grumpus wrote:See if this link works Rodney Dangerfield

This link does also not work

Norbert

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12040
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted May 15th, 2018, 12:35 pm

Do any of the Google controls on the Rodney Dangerfield video work?
Did you try and make any changes as far as rate, sound level, etc?
Do you have all the needed sound support packages (usually shown as dependencies) from Debian?
Though the User agent string show 60 is it really Ice Weasel you are using?

elist74
 
Posts: 94
Joined: June 27th, 2013, 11:27 am

Post Posted May 15th, 2018, 12:38 pm

If you have 2 sound cards, switch it in the "sound settings" (volume control). I use "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"

My youtube do not have sound (since firefox 60), I check the volume and switch sound card, now it's work.

The Linux i use is "xubuntu" .

Norre13
 
Posts: 4
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Post Posted May 16th, 2018, 1:02 am

elist74 wrote:If you have 2 sound cards, switch it in the "sound settings" (volume control). I use "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"

My youtube do not have sound (since firefox 60), I check the volume and switch sound card, now it's work.


This was the solution :!:
It solved my problem. Thank you very much for your help !!!

Norbert

elist74
 
Posts: 94
Joined: June 27th, 2013, 11:27 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2018, 6:21 am

:-) :-) :-)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests