MozillaZine

Secure Connection Failed

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
novice
 
Posts: 246
Joined: July 5th, 2004, 2:19 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 9:34 am

I try going to https://www.labor.ny.gov/home/ and can't access it with secure connection failed. I try Firefox for IOS mobile and it loads fine.
Any ideas?
I tried all the troubleshooting, FF 60

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18932
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 10:41 am

Something wrong.
Not sure what.
I'd wait till they sort it on their end.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3590
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 11:00 am

go about:support, open profile folder, exit firefox, rename cert9.db to cert9.old, restart firefox.
does this help? if not disable SSL scanning in your used antivirus (except windows defender)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18932
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 11:27 am

Hmm. Guess I should have said I see the "same*" in SeaMonkey 2.49.3.
"*same" - "the connect to has terminated unexpectedly. some data may have been transferred."
Though FF 52.x does load without issue.
Odd.
WinXP.
And a new SeaMonkey Profile works as expected.
Wonder what's up.
No A/V or anything like that on my end.
Copying non-working Profile cert8.db into working Profile does not break it.
Copying prefs.js over does break it.


More complete message:
Code: Select all
Secure Connection Failed

The connection to www.labor.ny.gov has terminated unexpectedly. Some data may have been transferred.

The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because the authenticity of the received data could not be verified.
Last edited by therube on May 14th, 2018, 11:43 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4657
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 11:38 am

Site loads here on latest Nightly.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18932
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 11:44 am

On my end, looks to be one or some combination of:
Code: Select all
user_pref("network.dns.disablePrefetch", true);
user_pref("network.http.speculative-parallel-limit", 0);
user_pref("network.prefetch-next", false);
user_pref("network.proxy.share_proxy_settings", true);

No idea how or why those particular settings came about.
(They are not something I would have gone about messing with.
Possible they just carried over from ancient times, or... ?)
But resetting them (to defaults) allows NY to load.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3590
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 11:48 am

same here, no issues.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18932
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 11:51 am

One other Pref of interest:

Code: Select all
user_pref("security.ssl3.rsa_des_ede3_sha", false);

Now that one, I may have set at some point (possibly during a zero-day ?) & maybe I should have reset it (at some point)?

In any case, resetting the above network.* Prefs OR resetting the ssl3 Pref (alone - with the network.* left in place) is enough to get NY working.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18932
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 11:54 am

I tried all the troubleshooting, FF 60

Did you try a new, clean Profile?
If you still have an issue there, then I'd look into what @B said about A/V.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3590
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 12:00 pm

security.ssl3.rsa_des_ede3_sha -> true (default)

changed
security.ssl3.dhe_rsa_aes_128_sha;false
security.ssl3.dhe_rsa_aes_256_sha;false

PS i dont have any intermittent a/v in usage.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18932
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 12:49 pm

Bug 1227524 Establish deprecation date for 3DES points to TLS Canary : Fx56.0a1 nightly - 3DES cipher disable : 2017-08-01-17-07-49 where you can find 3 *.ny*.gov (including labor.ny.gov) [the List view is easier to deal with, IMO].

So some time in the past, I must have taken the safer route, disabling that ssl3 Pref, with the expectation that it could break some sites. (A very small number, back then. And since, some sites have updated their ends, so even less today. Except for NY ;-).)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20041
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 2:29 pm

> And since, some sites have updated their ends

URLs?
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18932
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 14th, 2018, 10:04 pm

I set the SSL3 pref (to false), then simply picked a sampling of sites from that (Canary) list & tried to see if they would load or not.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

novice
 
Posts: 246
Joined: July 5th, 2004, 2:19 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2018, 1:25 am

Thanks, I'll just wait a bit and try later on. I have no issues with other sites.

novice
 
Posts: 246
Joined: July 5th, 2004, 2:19 pm

Post Posted May 21st, 2018, 7:05 am

I'm using free bitdefender antivirus. I added that web site as an exception and now it loads ok.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests