MozillaZine

GB spellchecker not working on flickr

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10826
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted May 17th, 2018, 3:00 pm

storm_the_dog wrote: :D Robert, you've nailed it!

=D>
storm_the_dog wrote:Doesn't explain why English (United States) was an option when I've removed it though.

I "think" that all builds of FF have the US spell checker installed which, is not the same as the language pack. Again not sure.

.
FF 70.0.1 - FF 71b7 - FF 72a - TB 68.2.2 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 17th, 2018, 3:03 pm

Just a FYI... creating a new Test profile does not in any way mess with your default profile.... That procedure is one of the basic (1st) tests in trying to resolve issues... as it turned out... it wouldn't have help anyway.

Glad this thing got resolved.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

storm_the_dog

User avatar
 
Posts: 41
Joined: September 2nd, 2013, 6:49 pm
Location: Ipswich, UK

Post Posted May 17th, 2018, 3:26 pm

You're probably right, The US spell-checker is probably hard-wired into FF.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27642
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted May 17th, 2018, 4:37 pm

All versions of Firefox comes with the inline spellchecker (since it existed as of Firefox 2.0). However only a few locales like en-US and maybe a couple others like fr comes with a dictionary due to licensing reasons.

If you have the en-GB locale of Firefox from http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all then you do not need the en-GB language pack. The en-GB Firefox does not come with a dictionary.

The Language Packs is for the language of the UI or User Interface. For example you can have one install of Firefox but then be able to change the language of the UI to different languages. They are not used with the inline spell checker.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-do-i-use-firefox-spell-checker
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/use-firefox-interface-other-languages-language-pack

storm_the_dog

User avatar
 
Posts: 41
Joined: September 2nd, 2013, 6:49 pm
Location: Ipswich, UK

Post Posted May 18th, 2018, 4:18 am

OK, good info, James. I wasn't aware I could add and remove words, so those links were useful, thanks.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 7 guests