MozillaZine

FF 59.0.3 is not releasing memory?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38340
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted May 10th, 2018, 8:47 am

Yep.
Backups are essential. That's why I use ACRONIS TI every week.

These are the 2 updates that failed miserably...& froze the 32 bit PC...
KB4099633 & KB4103718.
The MRT installed O.K.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 172
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted May 10th, 2018, 7:25 pm

The only ones I installed are the .NET patch and KB4103712 (security only version).
Both installed OK, but before my last post I noticed a problem with... hang on, I may have it again, gotta check some things.
As for backups, yeah. I usually end up with 2-3 a month.

Ok here's the deal. I'm not sure about this at all...yet.

Three services:

Diagnostic Policy Service
Diagnostic Service Host
Diagnostic System Host

Before my previous post's actions. I had a new problem. The Diagnostic Service Host (set to manual) was stopped and unable to be started. This threw up an error or warning in Event Viewer (don't remember the number).

The problem caused it to take forever for my internet connection to come up. (Normally it comes up in like 2 seconds)

Anyways, that's where I'm at now. When I was having this problem, I also had the KB4103712 update installed, from May 8th. After I started getting this error, I restored to a May 02 backup, and started over.

I know this is confusing, but I'm in the middle of researching it.
We the willing, led by the unknowing, have been doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have been doing so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38340
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted May 11th, 2018, 3:12 am

MS updates are a mess at the moment & have been causing problems for quite a while.
According to Woody & the crew, (eg; The Patch Lady), unless you really need to update......then don't.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 172
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted May 11th, 2018, 6:54 am

Yeah, I know. Problem is I'd probably have to remove the updates for like 3-5 months back.
Before the May update, I was having the problem where after browsing, even closing FF would not release the memory. That issue started like 2-3 months ago.

Like I mentioned in OP, it's gotta be either NoScript, or the Windows updates. Unfortunately, I don't like running without NoScript or the Windows updates. :/
We the willing, led by the unknowing, have been doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have been doing so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3590
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 11th, 2018, 9:06 am

That issue started like 2-3 months ago.

then i could not be windows and its updates - mine should have shown issues also but there are not.

ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 172
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 1:07 am

Here...check the... "Known issues in this update"

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4074587/windows-7-update-kb4074587

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4088878/windows-7-update-kb4088878


This started in January 2018 and went to Apr 2018. May 2018 said it has been fixed. It MIGHT have been. It needs another day or two to be sure.
We the willing, led by the unknowing, have been doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have been doing so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests