Search bar vs address bar for search

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Posts: 122
Joined: December 28th, 2006, 9:02 am

Post Posted February 13th, 2018, 9:05 am

Choosing 'Add search bar' I have my default with a dropdown so I can choose another engine for a search.
That choice is not available when using the address bar for search.
Am I missing something or is that the way FF is built?


User avatar
Posts: 19679
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted February 13th, 2018, 9:41 am

You can still choose what to search with when using the address bar.

Start typing your search in the address bar. At the bottom of the dropdown that pops up, you should see "Search for <yourSearchTerm> with:" and then a row of icons. The icons are the installed/active search engines. If you hover the icons, you will see the search engine name.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.


User avatar
Posts: 52352
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 13th, 2018, 9:54 pm

See also browser.urlbar.oneOffSearches on the about:config page.

Return to Firefox Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests