MozillaZine

Getting wrong icons on Bookmarks

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
leamphil
 
Posts: 64
Joined: February 18th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 7:09 am

On Firefox 58.0.2 I'm getting the wrong icons showing for some bookmarks.
I've tried safe mode and they are still wrong, even if I delete and then re-add a bookmark.
I have another profile on the same Firefox, with the same add-ons and the icons are correct.

Any suggestions please ?

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19719
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 8:28 am

Find your profile folder and with Firefox closed, either delete or rename the file called favicons.sqlite. When you next reopen Firefox, a new favicons.sqlite file will be created and you'll see the generic icon for all bookmarks. When you visit the bookmark, the icon should be updated to the site's favicon. There may be an extension that will visit all the sites you have bookmarked to get the favicon so you don't have to waste time doing it on your own.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

leamphil
 
Posts: 64
Joined: February 18th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 8:50 am

I've deleted the favicons.sqlite file and got back to the generic icons ...
... But I'm still seeing problems on some sites, for example https://sites.google.com/site/warwickshireps/lwps

The icon should be a postage stamp but shows as what looks like a series of folders with the back one violet.
Other sites are OK and show the correct icon.

The site above, https://sites.google.com/site/warwickshireps/lwps, is OK on Chrome (I added a fresh bookmark to it and got the correct postage stamp icon).

I tried copying the favicon.sqlite file from my other profile and got the right icons, yet when I accessed the https://sites.google.com/site/warwickshireps/lwps site the icon was updated to the wrong one again

... I've reset back to my original favicon.sqlite file.

You can see the correct icon for https://sites.google.com/site/warwickshireps/lwps at https://sites.google.com/site/warwicksh ... avicon.ico

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19719
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 10:05 am

If you look at page info -> media for that site, it has two favicons/icons. One of them references touch in the name. Does your computer have a touch screen? When I bookmarked the site, it used the touch icon for the bookmark, but the tab has the postage stamp looking icon. My laptop screen is a touch screen. Maybe Firefox uses the second icon because of the touch screen (the touch icon is larger than other icon so presumably would scale better if made larger for touch capability). I'm just guessing, though.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

leamphil
 
Posts: 64
Joined: February 18th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 10:21 am

Yes !
The https://ssl.gstatic.com/sites/p/6ab6ef/ ... h-icon.png is what I'm getting ...
... but my computer does not have a touch screen.

I don't know where the apple-touch-icon.png is coming from, it appears to be part of Google Sites which hosts the web page.

I happen to own the https://sites.google.com/site/warwickshireps/lwps site so I've updated it by adding another copy of the favicon.ico as apple-touch-icon.png. Now when I look at the page info it does not list the ssl.gstatic.com png file but lists the one I've added, with an image of a postage stamp.

However when I re-bookmark the page it still has the incorrect icon - maybe things have to work their way through, I'll try again in a while.

However, is there a Firefox setting/option/config that says that it has to be configured for touchscreen ??
I'm really puzzled as using a different profile on the same machine is fine.

leamphil
 
Posts: 64
Joined: February 18th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 10:35 am

I've got two more sites:
https://sites.google.com/site/sanddphg/
https://sites.google.com/site/bristolphg/

Both are hosted on Google sites. Both show a favicon and an apple-touch-icon on the page info > media.

Firefox seems to think the top site is going to be viewed with a touch screen and shows the apple-touch-icon in the bookmarks,
while it does not think the bottom site is going to be viewed a touch screen and shows the favicon in the bookmarks.

I do not have a touch screen so the bottom site is showing the correct behaviour.
Last edited by leamphil on February 10th, 2018, 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

leamphil
 
Posts: 64
Joined: February 18th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 10:49 am

Looking in about:config for items matching "touch" I've found a difference between the profile that works correctly (does not think I've got a touch screen) and the profile that works incorrectly (showing the apple-touch-icon in the bookmarks).

The "correct" profile has dom.w3c_touch_events.expose defined as a boolean and set to False. This is identified as a modified preference (not something I've done !)
The "incorrect" profile has dom.w3c_touch_events.expose defined as an integer with a value of 2 ... and is not a modified preference.

Can someone tell me if this is in the right area to contribute to my problem and what the correct type/value should be ?

It looks as if dom.w3c_touch_events.enabled is either set to 1 (enabled) or 2 (default, auto-detect) to get touch screen function in FF enabled.

... perhaps if I set it to 0 it will be disabled ? ... does not affect the (incorrect) icons despite deleting and re-bookmarking.

Help !

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1237
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 4:50 pm

Hmm.. "dom.w3c_touch_events.expose" doesn't appear in my about:config. Anyway, on the one site, I got the postage stamp icon in both the tab and bookmark.

leamphil
 
Posts: 64
Joined: February 18th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 11th, 2018, 4:02 am

Is my problem related to Bug 1403504 - "Bookmarks toolbar doesn't use regular favicons" which was supposed to be fixed in FF 58 ?
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1403504

The favicons on the sites that are having problems are only 16x16, though that is large enough for other browsers and used to be ok for FF.

Related question - is there a way (apart from deleting favicons.sqlite from the profile folder) to force a reload of a favicon ?

Deleting and re-bookmarking does not appear to do anything ?
... I have updated one of the sites that I've had problems with to add a specific apple-touch-icon.png -and it now shows correctly in the Page Info > Media, yet when I delete & re-bookmark I get the old apple-touch-icon that the page used to have.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3521
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted February 11th, 2018, 4:44 am

leamphil wrote:I've got two more sites:
https://sites.google.com/site/sanddphg/
https://sites.google.com/site/bristolphg/

Both are hosted on Google sites. Both show a favicon and an apple-touch-icon on the page info > media.

[..]so the bottom site is showing the correct behaviour.

because the big picture is same as icon. different from the other sites
Code: Select all
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="/site/warwickshireps/_/rsrc/1341482533091/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
<link rel="apple-touch-icon" href="/site/warwickshireps/_/rsrc/1518292414336/apple-touch-icon.png" type="image/png" />

the PNG ist the more detailed favicon.

i did not get any favicon when bookmarking (grey earth ball), only when revisiting. firefox 58.

try a fresh profile

leamphil
 
Posts: 64
Joined: February 18th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 11th, 2018, 5:12 am

leamphil wrote:Deleting and re-bookmarking does not appear to do anything ?
... I have updated one of the sites that I've had problems with to add a specific apple-touch-icon.png -and it now shows correctly in the Page Info > Media, yet when I delete & re-bookmark I get the old apple-touch-icon that the page used to have.

I've found the answer to this - delete bookmark, go into History, right click against site and Forget about this site. Then go into site again and re-bookmark and it picks up the updated (correct) icon.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests