MozillaZine

Two Identical User NAmes

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Uncleduke
 
Posts: 56
Joined: February 3rd, 2015, 1:03 pm

Post Posted February 7th, 2018, 4:50 pm

I have one site I use, and it is now offering two identical User Names. So I have to select one before it automatically enters my password. I would like to delete one of the User Names, but don't know how.

Thanks a bunch, Uncle Dewey

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19953
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 7th, 2018, 5:17 pm

Just go to Passwords in Preferences/Options, select the site and remove the username you don't want.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Uncleduke
 
Posts: 56
Joined: February 3rd, 2015, 1:03 pm

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 10:40 am

Thanks a bunch. Uncle Dewey

Uncleduke
 
Posts: 56
Joined: February 3rd, 2015, 1:03 pm

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 5:50 pm

I have been locked out of a message that is different than this problem. I have site which automatically enters my password, but each time I have to enter my User ID. How can I get the User ID entered automatically?

Thanks a bunch. Uncle Dewey

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19953
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 6:12 pm

Uncleduke wrote:I have been locked out of a message that is different than this problem. I have site which automatically enters my password, but each time I have to enter my User ID. How can I get the User ID entered automatically?

Thanks a bunch. Uncle Dewey

Normally, doing what you did is enough and that's the end of it. In this case I think you have left the password side for that site a bit confused and not sure about the number of entries it has for it.

What you need to do, is to go back into the Password Manager and make an exact written note of your username and password for that site and then delete that entry as well. Then restart to be on the safe side.

Go to the site, manually login and the Remember? dropdown will appear. Answer 'Yes' and you should be OK for automatic fill in on that site after that.

Even if this is a different site to your original problem, the above routine will still be an effective solution, certainly in the past.

Note: I have noticed a few, not many, recent reports about users having the same trouble on random sites. This might just be the same stuff or possibly a sign of some weird bug. Either way, grabbing your username and passwords for these sites is no bad thing.

Personally, I don't like any password stuff playing up, so I'd be going into the profile (Help>Trouble Shoot>Open Folder, etc and grabbing the key4.db and logins.json files, even at this stage. Those are the 2 parts to your password side.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Uncleduke
 
Posts: 56
Joined: February 3rd, 2015, 1:03 pm

Post Posted February 11th, 2018, 5:58 pm

I have diligently worked on making certain I was saving the web site so it would automatically enter the User Name, but without success. The bookmark has all the information needed to get the USER ID displayed. However, when I go to Options the Site info only has the basic site info without the info needed to enter the User ID.

http://www.safeway.com rather than

http://www.safeway.com/?FullSite=Y&storeId=713

Uncle Dewey

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests