MozillaZine

FF Not Launching

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Briar2345
 
Posts: 5
Joined: December 20th, 2017, 9:43 am

Post Posted January 12th, 2018, 9:39 am

Good Afternoon,

Some two out of three times launching FF from the Quick Launch (Windows 7 Pro) :

On launch - no GUI, four instances of FF running.

Shift Launch (Safe Mode) - no response, still four instances running.

Strangle one instance in Task Manager - three instances disappear,

Strangle final instance - allows normal launch with GUI.

Annoying !

Any ideas?

Regards,

Briar

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38160
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 12th, 2018, 9:44 am

Moving to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3278
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 12th, 2018, 11:34 am

try windows safe mode with network (start > execute > msconfig.exe and set options)

test new profile

check on adware!
AdwCleaner AdwCleaner Download
Insert [Report] here, then [Cleanup]

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18481
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted January 13th, 2018, 7:16 am

On launch - no GUI, four instances of FF running.

FF is now multi-process, so seeing "four instances" is not uncommon.
(It's actually 3 child processes of the initial FF process.)

Shift Launch (Safe Mode) - no response, still four instances running.

If you did not kill the above hung process(es) first, that this is not necessarily unexpected.


So you're getting a hang (in memory) on startup.
That hang is thwarting other attempts to open other instances of FF.
Figuring out what is causing the hang... hmm ?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Briar2345
 
Posts: 5
Joined: December 20th, 2017, 9:43 am

Post Posted January 23rd, 2018, 7:19 am

If I were to uninstall and re-install, would that help?

(I have two other machines both running the same OS and FF setup, without this problem).

Regards,

Briar

allande
 
Posts: 163
Joined: July 20th, 2017, 11:58 am

Post Posted January 23rd, 2018, 8:16 am

Most of the time uninstalling and reinstalling does not fix Firefox problems since they usually are problems in the profile. I agree with Brummelchen 's reply, try a new profile or clean viruses. Details on new profile are here:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

Also though, if you set Firefox to use only one process that may make things a bit easier since you will only have to kill one process if it hangs. As shown here, set the content process limit to 1 (if you want to only have one process to kill) https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/pe ... e-settings If you end up fixing the problem you can change it back.

Briar2345
 
Posts: 5
Joined: December 20th, 2017, 9:43 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2018, 3:30 am

G'day,

This problem was the result of an errant Malwarebytes application.

Removing it solved one or two other (unrelated) problems as well.

Thanks to all who responded.

Briar

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27262
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted February 2nd, 2018, 2:41 pm

Briar2345 wrote:G'day,

This problem was the result of an errant Malwarebytes application.

Removing it solved one or two other (unrelated) problems as well.

Thanks to all who responded.

Briar

Do you have have "RET ROP Gadget detection" checked in Advanced Memory Protection in Malwarebytes as this is unchecked by default (recommended).

https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/2 ... et-attack/
https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/2 ... ocked-bug/

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests