MozillaZine

Flash not working in Firefox

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Rnako
 
Posts: 4
Joined: January 8th, 2018, 7:52 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2018, 8:13 am

Flashplayer not working in Firefox. I confirmed and adjusted settings for cookies, privacy and add-ons but cannot get flash to work in Firefox. I changed the add-on setting to always ask permission. When I registered for this account, I couldn't even see the special code words at the end that are required verification for submitting registration info. So I had to use IE browser, instead, in order to set up this account. Have searched the internet but all the advice seems dated.I have Firefox Quantum 57.0.4 (64-bit) and my flashplayer is up to date. I downloaded it to re-install today but it was the same version I already have. Help!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38455
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 8th, 2018, 8:20 am

Does Flash work on the Adobe Test page?
> http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/about/

Moving to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Rnako
 
Posts: 4
Joined: January 8th, 2018, 7:52 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2018, 12:28 pm

I'm adding to my first comment about Flash not working in Firefox. Actually, I don't seem to be able to get any images, not just videos. I can play YouTube videos but, for example, I can't watch the video at http://www.dceaglecam.org/. Another type of recurring problem is getting a blank screen instead of the map shown on a vacation rental web site which seems to be from another site, like MapQuest. I have to use other browsers. I'm frustrated because I can't watch the usual video posted on websites. I don't think it's my computer because I don't have this problem with other browsers.

Rnako
 
Posts: 4
Joined: January 8th, 2018, 7:52 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2018, 12:37 pm

Thank you, LIMPET235. I have the most up to date version and the test shows Flash is working. I don't know if this is a problem with my computer settings for Flash or something else. The problem isn't limited to video, I can't see other images either. Often, where an image should appear on a webpage, it's just a white blank space.

Rnako
 
Posts: 4
Joined: January 8th, 2018, 7:52 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2018, 12:41 pm

I forgot to add that at http://www.dceaglecam.org/ after I click to activate Flash, I get this message, "The media could not be loaded either because the server or network failed or because the format is not supported." Since I could view the video on IE, I don't think the error message is correct but maybe I'm wrong.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19166
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted January 8th, 2018, 1:40 pm

Ask to activate works on my end - with Flash, & then I saw a birds nest.
I seemed to have needed to click twice, but it worked.

You may have something else blocking.
I'm on XP, so possible the site serves me Flash where on later computers it might be using HTML5 (not sure, but in which it wouldn't even be using Flash).

I also say "twitter" noted, & there is or could be issues (with CSP) with twitter videos hosted on 3rd party sites. (Might not apply here, but...)


(And while this does not apply here, note that some sites do not like "Ask to activate", & you might need to set Flash to "Allowed" instead.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27435
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted January 8th, 2018, 3:05 pm

Rnako wrote:I forgot to add that at http://www.dceaglecam.org/ after I click to activate Flash, I get this message, "The media could not be loaded either because the server or network failed or because the format is not supported." Since I could view the video on IE, I don't think the error message is correct but maybe I'm wrong.

If I have Flash set to never activate I get the HTML5 player. If I set Flash to click to activate then I get the Flash lego icon to click and then play with Flash Player.

A place to see if you fully support the HTML5 player is at https://www.youtube.com/html5/ as all checks should be blue.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests