MozillaZine

Update to 57.0.1 resets default search engine

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Asperamanca
 
Posts: 52
Joined: March 18th, 2005, 1:04 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 2:34 am

I had DuckDuckGo as default search engine prior to the update.
After the update, default search engine was Google.
Is this some sort of hint? Sounds more like a bug to me.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37866
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 4:01 am

Moving to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2280
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 7:17 am

Mozilla and Google are in love again and the latter has once again become the default search engine. But you can reset it to DuckDuckGo. Copy/paste about:preferences#search into the location bar and hit Enter. If you don't see Duckduckgo in the list of alternative search engines, go to their site and you'll see a banner which can be used to set it as default.

Asperamanca
 
Posts: 52
Joined: March 18th, 2005, 1:04 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 7:35 am

It's not a support matter, because I did not ask for support. I know how to change the default search engine (thanks though for explaining it). It was my full intention to report this as a bug, because changing user settings during an upgrade should happen only if the setting is no longer valid, or no longer exists, or if the setting is still at it's default, and the default changes.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27174
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 3:50 pm


8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 6:55 pm

Asperamanca wrote:changing user settings during an upgrade should happen only if the setting is no longer valid, or no longer exists, or if the setting is still at it's default, and the default changes.

I concur. Noticed this myself the first time I did a search after updating. Firefox should NOT be modifying or resetting the users settings, unless there is no other option. BUT - while the report is necessary here for informational purposes. You should really report this directly on the "official" Mozilla support site - we have no power to change this as this is a user supported community and is not directly related to Mozilla. I will report my displeasure also.

One other thing: try using https://startpage.com as your default search engine. Privacy, security, and it's results come directly from Google. It is not U.S. based so they are not bound by U.S. regulations on certain things. It's my go-to default. Just a suggestion...
The desire that something be true, rather than the desire for truth itself, is why pseudoscience is pop-culture.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32000
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 7:13 pm

Asperamanca wrote:It's not a support matter, because I did not ask for support.


Then complain to Mozilla and leave this Support forum out of your petty complaint.

You can let Mozilla know how you feel here: https://qsurvey.mozilla.com/s3/FirefoxInput/
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 12:04 pm

Update to 57.0.1 resets default search engine

I had DuckDuckGo as default search engine prior to the update.
After the update, default search engine was Google.

Unable to confirm on my end.
After update, search engine remained unchanged.

If you create a new Profile, it does default to Google.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4488
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 5:45 pm

This is nothing new. When a couple years ago Moz switched to Yayhoo everyone was changed to new default.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 12:34 pm

I don't recall anymore if there bugs in that respect - might have been, but intended behavior back then, was existing Profile was left untouched. New Profiles would get Yahoo.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 12:22 pm

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests