MozillaZine

keyboard shortcut to restart firefox? [Mac]

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
siffemoz
 
Posts: 114
Joined: January 29th, 2016, 4:36 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2018, 11:16 pm

Got it! I had either downloaded userChrome.xml or copied the contents into Notepad and apparently it messed up somewhere. I copied the contents and saved in a Notepad++ file this time. Button showed up right on the toolbar :-)
Way cool; will see if it works on Beta and Nightly.

siffemoz
 
Posts: 114
Joined: January 29th, 2016, 4:36 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2018, 11:18 pm

Yup, works there too. Thanks so much for your assistance!

Where/how do I find some other useful buttons I can add that way?

morat
 
Posts: 2867
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted June 28th, 2018, 3:01 am

@siffemoz

Sporif wrote:It's very possible that at some future time the Firefox team will remove some or all of the functionality that makes this possible, so enjoy it while you can.

Google search CustomizableUI.createWidget
http://www.google.com/search?q=CustomizableUI.createWidge

Stack overflow search CustomizableUI.createWidget
http://stackoverflow.com/search?q=CustomizableUI.createWidget

German thread on userChrome.js
http://www.camp-firefox.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=112673

Google search CustomizableUI.createWidget on camp-firefox.de
http://www.google.com/search?q=CustomizableUI.createWidget+site%3Acamp-firefox.de
http://www.google.com/search?q=CustomizableUI.createWidget+site%3Acamp-firefox.de+inurl%3At%3D112673

Luke Baker customizations
http://luke-baker.github.io/

Xiao customizations
http://github.com/xiaoxiaoflood/firefox-scripts

Combo widget example: viewtopic.php?p=14803615#p14803615

siffemoz
 
Posts: 114
Joined: January 29th, 2016, 4:36 pm

Post Posted June 30th, 2018, 12:24 am

Thanks much, morat.

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7741
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted July 2nd, 2018, 5:26 am

Starting with Firefox 61, you can open the Browser Console (Ctrl+Shift+J or Cmd+Shift+J), after which you can restart the browser by pressing Ctrl+Alt+R or Cmd+Alt+R.

siffemoz
 
Posts: 114
Joined: January 29th, 2016, 4:36 pm

Post Posted July 3rd, 2018, 1:19 am

Nice, but it looks like 62, not 61. At least, for me :-)

morat
 
Posts: 2867
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted July 3rd, 2018, 6:31 am

The keyboard shortcut works for me. (hat tip to gingerbread man)

Firefox 61.0
Windows 7 SP1 32-bit

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests