MozillaZine

Firefox ESR and Google/Yahoo Not Being Secured

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
BorgInvasionReturns
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:27 pm

Post Posted September 17th, 2017, 8:24 pm

My work laptop is a W7 unit. With Firefox breaking the addons I use for productivity, because they are options Mozilla does not give, I installed ESR over it and everything was fine. Now I have to switch to a new laptop with Windows 10. Already had Firefox on it. I updated it to the current release: 55.0.3 32bit. I put a copy of Firefox ESR 52.3.0 64bit on and when it comes to Google and Yahoo, it fails. Both give me:

"Your connection is not secure" The owner of http://www.google.com has configured their website improperly. ... This site uses HTTP Strict Transport Security (HSTS) to specify that Firefox only connect to it securely. As a result, it is not possible to add an exception for this certificate."

Now I was able to add an exception for Yahoo, but nothing load right. Google gives no option and nothing I can figure out.

Microsoft sites are also blocked. I was able to add that exception, and it looks okay (so far).

Both laptops run McAfee, and I can not disable on access scanning.

Yes, ESR, for Yahoo and Google, works on my Windows 7 laptop but not on the Windows 10.

This W10 is a brand new laptop.

Any thoughts?

Thank you.

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 363
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted September 17th, 2017, 11:24 pm

BorgInvasionReturns wrote:
Any thoughts?



Would you please disable your security and anti-virus software (McAfee and any others that you may have installed), and see if that will make a difference ?

My personal opinion :
With Windows' Defender (built-in) and the safest browser on the planet (Firefox), it's like being in Fort Knox !

Also see :
http://tech.firstpost.com/news-analysis/ex-mozilla-firefox-developer-says-anti-virus-software-does-more-harm-than-good-359798.html
You can keep your diamonds - they're just shiny stones; love is the only precious thing and doesn't cost a dime.

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 7:29 am

You're getting that warning because you're trying to connect to an insecure site i.e. one beginning with http://. Change it to https:// so it becomes https://www.google.com

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17539
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 7:30 am

Have you tried Safe Mode?

As a test, create a new, clean Profile & test with that.

Is it only those two (https) sites with an issue, or is it any https site?
Error loading secure sites
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

BorgInvasionReturns
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:27 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 9:40 am

Happy, they have McAfee installed and I am unable to disable it. Can not force it to end. My older laptop had McAfee too but ERS worked fine. However, normal Firefox works with these sites fine.

Reflective, does not matter if I do http or https (which they redirect to themselves automatically anyway). Yahoo (stopped working now and not giving me option to add exception again), Google, Youtube, Microsoft. not sure what else yet.

Therube, same with safe mode, and this is a brand new profile. Only some sites. So far the four I mentioned.

I have ESR and the normal Firefox in separate directories. The regular Firefox 55.0.3 (or Internet Explorer or Chrome) work fine, except of course all my (Firefox) addons do not anymore due to Mozilla changing code. So that is why I am using ESR 52.3.0, to be productive with my addons, but ESR is not letting me access the sites I need (except Yahoo, which I accidentally discovered not work and could care less).

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 363
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 10:08 am

@ BorgInvasionReturns :

Just in case you want to give it a try :

https://service.mcafee.com/webcenter/po ... e3c4ssm_49
You can keep your diamonds - they're just shiny stones; love is the only precious thing and doesn't cost a dime.

BorgInvasionReturns
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:27 pm

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 7:38 am

Happy, thanks for the info but I can not as it is blocked by the network administrator as this is a company laptop. I could not remove it even if I tried. It would get pushed back or the daily audit be fussing my AV is broken and reports it to them.
But all this same stuff is on my old laptop. Just the only difference is the OS.

BorgInvasionReturns
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:27 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 11:11 am

Both Firefox ESR settings match on both laptops. Just the Windows 7 can access everything but the Windows 10 gives those warnings.
Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, and main Firefox work on both completely.

BorgInvasionReturns
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:27 pm

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 11:54 am

Just tried Wikipedia and that gives me the same error, but I can access it fine the other ways.

Your connection is not secure
The owner of en.wikipedia.org has configured their website improperly. To protect your information from being stolen, Firefox has not connected to this website.
This site uses HTTP Strict Transport Security (HSTS) to specify that Firefox may only connect to it securely. As a result, it is not possible to add an exception for this certificate.

With no option to add (permanently).

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17539
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 22nd, 2017, 9:07 am

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

BorgInvasionReturns
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:27 pm

Post Posted September 22nd, 2017, 5:16 pm

Rube, I have looked that over and none of that seems to apply.
Again, the main Firefox works, and both work on Windows 7.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests