MozillaZine

Firefox 32 bit vs 64 bit Pros and Cons? (on Windows)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mozilla-vetaran
 
Posts: 12
Joined: June 9th, 2015, 9:47 am

Post Posted September 11th, 2017, 11:30 pm

Hi

I understand it might not be wise move over to 64 bit software/Programs?

I understand theemes and extension dosent work well in the 64 bit version of Firefox - it also used more memory?

Could get the advices of the Firefox experts on this board?

This might to be the right section of the board i have posted my question?

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43142
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 12:23 am

mozilla-vetaran wrote:Hi

I understand it might not be wise move over to 64 bit software/Programs?


Why?
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

mozilla-vetaran
 
Posts: 12
Joined: June 9th, 2015, 9:47 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 12:54 am

Because there is not as many theemes and extensions to the 64 bit version of Firefox - it also used more memory, system power Maybe it load and perform slower.

Im not sure 32 bit theemes and extentions work rge 64 bit version of FF?

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 43019
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 1:24 am

See http://kb.mozillazine.org/64_bit_builds . "Most extensions and themes don't care what operating system you are using, or whether you are using a 32 bit or 64 bit application."

mozilla-vetaran
 
Posts: 12
Joined: June 9th, 2015, 9:47 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 1:38 am

Thank you for the link - but what about the 64 bit use more memory, system power and it load and perform slower?

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43142
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 2:04 am

mozilla-vetaran wrote:Thank you for the link - but what about the 64 bit use more memory, system power and it load and perform slower?

Not too sure where you are getting this stuff from but its wrong
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 26955
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 2:14 am

mozilla-vetaran wrote:Because there is not as many theemes and extensions to the 64 bit version of Firefox -

Im not sure 32 bit theemes and extentions work rge 64 bit version of FF?

It is Plugins that are more specific with needing 32-bit and 64-bit versions whether on Windows, Mac OSX, or Linux. However since Firefox 52.0 Release only the Adobe Flash Player Plugin is allowed to run anyways unless you use the Firefox 52.0 ESR.

The Extensions and Themes (whether complete or the basic image background) are not 32-bit or 64-bit or OS specific unless there is a very specific reason.

Some Extensions like ones provided by antivirus clients however can be OS specific and even sometimes does not support both 32-bit and 64-bit version of Firefox on Windows. Some extensions like IE Tab are Windows specific for example since it uses the actual IE on Windows.

Nothing about 32-bit or 64-bit Firefox on Windows, Mac OSX or Linux at https://addons.mozilla.org/faq because if it was a issue then there would be mention.

mozilla-vetaran wrote:Thank you for the link - but what about the 64 bit use more memory, system power and it load and perform slower?

Win64 Firefox can make use of more memory compared to 32-bit version on Windows due to 32-bit Windows limitations of 4GB.

Mark12547
 
Posts: 49
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 7:45 am

The 64-bit build uses about 20% more real memory than the 32-bit build, according to the Description of Bug 1274659: Migrate 32-bit Firefox (WOW64) users to 64-bit Firefox (Win64), but the plus side is fewer crashes due to eliminating many out of memory conditions due to fragmentation and address space exhaustion.

I have been running 64-bit builds since ... I think it was fairly early last year. In any case, I am currently running 64-bit Firefox Nightly 57.0a1, 64-bit Firefox Release Channel 55.0.3, 64-bit Chrome Stable 61.0.3163.79 on a 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium SP1, and I haven't had any issues specific to the 64-bit builds. I am using a theme and eleven extensions in Nightly, and none seemed to care about the memory model they are running on. I have one site I frequent that uses the Flash player (so I have to have Flash installed for that) and, other than the eternal struggle to keep it updated, I haven't noticed any increase of problems with it compared to 32-bit Firefox using Flash and lately the only problem seems to be making sure I keep Flash updated as per the Adobe web site, not according to various scumware advertisements that pretend to require updates from scumsites.

Back when I was considering switching to the 64-bit builds of Firefox, I did look at various sites that had posted benchmarks of 32-bit Firefox vs. 64-bit Firefox and, while there were variations in results between the two builds, the variations were quite minor and most showed one build slightly faster in one test and the other build slightly faster in another test but no performance winner.

When I first installed the 64-bit build, there was no noticeable performance change; the only thing I noticed was that the rare infinitely-sized page (one of those that pulls in more images in as you scroll down) could be scrolled far further down in the 64-bit build than the 32-bit build, but of course at the cost of consuming more memory. But for typical web pages, yes, I can believe for typical browsing the 64-bit build consumes a bit more memory than the 32-bit build, and I have no reason to doubt the 20% more estimate that is quoted in the description of Bug 1274659.

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2021
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 8:10 am

The 64-bit version will become the de facto default for installations from FF56+ on 64-bit systems: https://www.ghacks.net/2017/07/22/firef ... t-upgrade/

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 1983
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 8:56 am

64bit can use more memory and is not limited to 4gb (x86). but at least if firefox exceeds 2gig memory without watching a html5 video i think its time to solve some issues ;)

for the used profile it dont really matters how many bits were used. but there exists extensions (eg like MAFF/mozilla archive format) which recognises teh installed version and set path to it. user has to re-set that option in maff settings when changing bits.

it is not wise to mix and have both installed. if versions uses the same profile they would set itself as default browser which makes it complicated.

HTH

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 26955
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted September 12th, 2017, 2:18 pm

Win64 Firefox is not new as for Releases it has existed since Firefox 42.0 (Nov 3, 2015) and first listed on http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/ starting at Firefox 43.0. Mac OSX and Linux has had 64-bit builds since Firefox 4.0 and OSX only has 64-bit now since Firefox 53.0.

Reflective wrote:The 64-bit version will become the de facto default for installations from FF56+ on 64-bit systems: https://www.ghacks.net/2017/07/22/firef ... t-upgrade/

Short version those using 32-bit Firefox 55.0 or older (on Windows) upgrading to 56.0 will get Win64 Firefox if you have 64-bit Win7 or later and 2GB+ Ram. The stub installer on http://www.mozilla.org will default to 64-bit if your system supports it and not be only 32-bit as before. One can still download the full separate 32-bit or 64-bit Firefox setups for Windows at http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/

Also those using 32-bit Firefox 52 ESR builds on Windows and those using 32-bit Firefox Releases on Linux will not be affected by this change.

CaJazzman

User avatar
 
Posts: 218
Joined: March 5th, 2009, 2:21 pm
Location: Vacaville,California

Post Posted September 15th, 2017, 5:48 pm

James wrote:Win64 Firefox is not new as for Releases it has existed since Firefox 42.0 (Nov 3, 2015) and first listed on http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/ starting at Firefox 43.0. Mac OSX and Linux has had 64-bit builds since Firefox 4.0 and OSX only has 64-bit now since Firefox 53.0.

Reflective wrote:The 64-bit version will become the de facto default for installations from FF56+ on 64-bit systems: https://www.ghacks.net/2017/07/22/firef ... t-upgrade/

Short version those using 32-bit Firefox 55.0 or older (on Windows) upgrading to 56.0 will get Win64 Firefox if you have 64-bit Win7 or later and 2GB+ Ram. The stub installer on http://www.mozilla.org will default to 64-bit if your system supports it and not be only 32-bit as before. One can still download the full separate 32-bit or 64-bit Firefox setups for Windows at http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/

Also those using 32-bit Firefox 52 ESR builds on Windows and those using 32-bit Firefox Releases on Linux will not be affected by this change.

I also must say, that since switching to the x64 build, I haven't noticed any difference what so ever. But, then, that's me. 8-)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 12 guests