MozillaZine

Firefox is slow and unresponsive

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted March 11th, 2017, 2:41 am

Hi, is anyone else having troubles with Firefox?

Mine is getting ultra slow at times like it doesnt have enough resources, but it has plenty. CPU 30%. RAM 1.8GB. Out of an i3 and 4gb of ram.
Sometimes It functions, but it is inaccessible to my commands for a while.

I had the impression that maybe it was my HDD or Windows10, but i got an SSD and switched back to Win7 and the same behaviour.
My dads computer does the same. Different households. Chrome runs very fast on his and my computer.

I tried FF with addons disabled, with a new profile.... So it just looks like Firefox has became very very slow and outdated.
Is this the beginning of its demise? I like Firefox and i dont want to move to Chrome. But if it keeps being this slow....

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted March 11th, 2017, 3:34 am


TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted March 11th, 2017, 5:12 am

My cache was empty. Had 240kb stored for one site i dont recognize as offline data. Thats all.
I use the Self-destructing cookies extension so i dont have so many cookies. That shouldnt be the problem.

I just loaded the Page info to clear the facebook cookies.... Firefox started to be unresponsive again for a few seconds.

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted March 11th, 2017, 9:07 am

To eliminate malware as the cause of the problem download Malwarebytes and then allow it to run a full scan: https://www.malwarebytes.com/

If nothing is found restart Firefox in its own 'Safe Mode' configuration and then determine if it fixes the problem: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If it does then one or more of your extensions is the cause of the problem.

If all else fails create a new profile: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 21981
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted March 11th, 2017, 10:28 am

Are you and your dad using the same AV products? ... it could be that something in the data area of those apps. didn't update properly with the new release...

One way to really check on that is to reboot your PC into safe-mode with Network on and then try Firefox.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11228
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted March 11th, 2017, 11:18 am

This system is having no speed issues at all, it actually appears to load pages faster than ever before.
I'm guessing but it could be old extensions or plugins which are still partially functional causing your slowdown.
Checking about:performance even my extensions which remain perform well.

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted March 12th, 2017, 9:51 am

I just did a Malawrebytes scan. Nothing found. Not even a bad cookie.


I created a new profile and looked at about:performance. Facebook is listed as following:
Performance of Web pages
Facebook may currently be slowing down Firefox
about:performance may currently be slowing down Firefox.
Post a reply • mozillaZine Forums currently performs well.

All pages are listed as that. It only appears to be Firefoxs fault.... If anyone is curious to take a look at it remotely via teamviewer...

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 21981
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted March 12th, 2017, 10:12 am

So... are you talking about Facebook specifically? ... and not other types of browsing?
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted March 12th, 2017, 4:44 pm

Pages in general. Facebook is one of the most visited pages though that i provided as example.
I also asked another fb friend how his FF is performing, and he said the same.

sometimes it's slugish and slow as sh.t. laggy
it's good to close it and reopen it often i've noticed
if u open many web pages where some need flash and such
it bugs the fu.k out and starts being a piece of shit
so when u see it becomes satanic and unresponsive. restart firefox.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 116114
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 12th, 2017, 4:58 pm

Which security software is running on this system and did you ever have a different security program running previously?

anticeon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 12th, 2017, 1:44 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2017, 7:00 pm

TheKiller wrote:Hi, is anyone else having troubles with Firefox?

Mine is getting ultra slow at times like it doesnt have enough resources, but it has plenty. CPU 30%. RAM 1.8GB. Out of an i3 and 4gb of ram.
Sometimes It functions, but it is inaccessible to my commands for a while.

I had the impression that maybe it was my HDD or Windows10, but i got an SSD and switched back to Win7 and the same behaviour.
My dads computer does the same. Different households. Chrome runs very fast on his and my computer.

I tried FF with addons disabled, with a new profile.... So it just looks like Firefox has became very very slow and outdated.
Is this the beginning of its demise? I like Firefox and i dont want to move to Chrome. But if it keeps being this slow....


For me, Firefox in Windows 7 is so slow. i try Windows 8.1 or 10 and faster

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10374
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2017, 8:23 pm

@TheKiller
How much crap is shown running in Windows Task Manager ?
I have 28 process' using 15% of CPU on this old XP box.
All runs smooth
"Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please."
~ Mark Twain

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted March 14th, 2017, 3:01 am

I forgot to mention i have no antivirus. Just Windows Firewall. I am not infected.

I downgraded from Win10 to Win7 because i thought it was because of Win10... its running the same on both.

My CPU works normally. Nothing up the scale.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 116114
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 14th, 2017, 6:31 am

When you created the new profiles did you test them without making any changes to the default values? That is, did you test them before installing any extensions or themes?

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 21981
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted March 14th, 2017, 7:35 am

TheKiller wrote:I forgot to mention i have no antivirus. Just Windows Firewall. I am not infected.

What indicates that you are not infected? ....

See what happens when you bring down the portable version of Firefox...
Mozilla Firefox, Portable Edition | PortableApps.com - Portable software for USB, portable and cloud drives
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests