MozillaZine

how to change [History - Recently Closed Tab] settings?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
q12x
 
Posts: 31
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 5:00 am

my firefox [History - Recently Closed Tabs] is not working.
How to activate this option again?
Is there a settings somewhere I can change?
{my FF version is: 51.0.1 (32-bit) -the last version to date}
Than you.
Image
Last edited by q12x on February 26th, 2017, 7:58 am, edited 2 times in total.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 116142
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 5:10 am

Moving to Firefox Support.

What settings do you have selected under Tools->Options->Privacy->History?

q12x
 
Posts: 31
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 7:10 am

I Re-edited this answer: (sorry)
for DanRaisch
Something very strange happened.
Whatever I choose: [Remember History] OR [Never Remember History], a message box appear to restart browser for the option to take effect. And When I restart the browser, the change remains.
But the strange thing I encounter, is that the [Use Custom Settings for History] option, is not working. I select that option and after I close the Option page, and reopen the Option page. only the [Remember History] is active. But not my custom option. The same is when I restart the browser too.

Image
Last edited by q12x on February 26th, 2017, 7:54 am, edited 5 times in total.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17128
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 7:10 am

(And presumably you have closed some tabs in the current window [in the current session] ;-).)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

q12x
 
Posts: 31
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 7:15 am

i have this problem for a year or more - i dont even remember - I suspect it was from browser versions or from some plugins?
- Yes [therube], i did close and opened tabs - but that option remained freeze and unavailable.

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4152
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 7:28 am

q12x wrote:i have this problem for a year or more - i dont even remember - I suspect it was from browser versions or from some plugins?
- Yes [therube], i did close and opened tabs - but that option remained freeze and unavailable.



Does the same occur if you run Firefox in Firefox safe-mode ?

Close Firefox
Hold Shift key and then click on the Firefox Icon to start up Firefox
Click 'Continue'

Browse safely for a bit and see if same issue occurs when you close tabs.

q12x
 
Posts: 31
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 7:41 am


q12x
 
Posts: 31
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 7:59 am

{my FF version is: 51.0.1 (32-bit) -the last version to date}

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17128
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 9:06 am

As a test, create a new, clean Profile.
Fire it up, open a few tabs, close some of them, verify that your Restore Closed Tabs works.

Visit your original Profile Folder & see if anything looks amiss (like sets of numerically incremented files)?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52056
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 11:58 am

What are the values of the browser.sessionstore.*undo prefs?
browser.sessionstore.max_tabs_undo
browser.sessionstore.max_windows_undo

q12x
 
Posts: 31
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 12:14 pm

to dickvl, where I can find "the values of the browser.sessionstore.*undo prefs?"

q12x
 
Posts: 31
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 12:52 pm

to therube:
I folowed this tutorial and all went well and safe: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
I switched back and forth from one profile to other.
The experiment is a success - inside the new profile I can use this function of recently closed tabs!
But how can repair it from my default profile? I dont want to do ALL the customizations I have currently, to a new profile...really . You understand my point? If nothing can be done(but i doubt it) I will recustomize everything again. But is work for 1 day or more only to recustomize everything i have here... it is a BIG pain, believe me.
I want to be able to repair this problem from current profile... it is possible?
Thank you very much !
in conclusion is a Profile BUG. (the default profile)
here is a screenshot to confirm the success experiment:
Image

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52056
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 1:09 pm

You can open the about:config page via the location/address bar.
You can accept the warning and click "I'll be careful" to continue.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/about:config

q12x
 
Posts: 31
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2017, 1:49 pm

Thank You so much mister dickvl !!!
It worked from about:config !
It was set to 0. I quickly set it to 20 , opened and closed a page, and the history-recently closed tabs re-activated.
YOU are AWESOME !!!
Thank youuuu from my heart - you have no idea how frustrating it was.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests