MozillaZine

FF 51.0.1 pop ups not respoding. [Linux.]

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
reiko89
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 8th, 2017, 3:02 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2017, 3:16 am

Hello,
After my FF got updated to version 51.0.1, pop ups are not responding.
This issue occurs only for a specific web. Turning off pop up blocker did not help.
I am using Ubuntu 16.04 x64. This issue occurred to my colleagues too on win7, win8.1 and win10.
They had this issue since FF 50.0.1.
Really strange thing is when I refresh FF, the issue disappears, but after aj restart FF the issues occurs again.
Do you have any hints, what can possibly be the cause?
I love FF for work and I am quite sad that I can't use it properly.
Last edited by LIMPET235 on February 8th, 2017, 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [Linux] to the title.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17067
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 8th, 2017, 9:22 am

only for a specific web

URL?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37161
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted February 8th, 2017, 9:28 am

Moving to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.9.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

reiko89
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 8th, 2017, 3:02 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2017, 1:39 am

therube wrote:
only for a specific web

URL?

Sorry,
I would have already pasted the link if it was possible.
Unfortunately you can't access that URL, because you need to log in
and there is no way to register to it easily. [-(

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11146
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted February 9th, 2017, 7:21 am

Have you tried the site in Safe Mode?

/Help/Restart with add-ons disabled

reiko89
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 8th, 2017, 3:02 am

Post Posted February 12th, 2017, 4:45 am

Grumpus wrote:Have you tried the site in Safe Mode?

/Help/Restart with add-ons disabled


Yeah I tried it too, but it didn't help. The only thing that helps for a short amount of time is to refresh whole FF.
Or to downgrade FF.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11146
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted February 13th, 2017, 6:03 am

Refresh is not a good way to deal with this as you change your settings.
Read this Refresh Firefox
See if /Edit/Preferences/Content/Pop-ups is checked and look at the exceptions to see if any sites where the pop-ups fail is listed.
Are any of these pop-ups from extensions?

reiko89
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 8th, 2017, 3:02 am

Post Posted February 14th, 2017, 4:59 am

Grumpus wrote:Refresh is not a good way to deal with this as you change your settings.
Read this Refresh Firefox
See if /Edit/Preferences/Content/Pop-ups is checked and look at the exceptions to see if any sites where the pop-ups fail is listed.
Are any of these pop-ups from extensions?

Sorry,
but I used refresh of FF as last resort.
I tried to play with pop-up extensions, but it didn't help.
IF I refresh it and only close and open FF the pop ups stop working,
I am no changing anything or so on.
This same problem occurred to many users after update to 50.1 or 51.1.
Therefore I think it is not something that I changed, but it looks like a change in update of FF.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11146
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted February 14th, 2017, 6:32 am

It's unlikely to be completely related to Firefox.
There has to be something else you've or the site mentioned above have done, added a plug-in or extension or possibly a hidden cookie or player device.
I'm running newer Linux kernels than you have with your default and have none of these issues.
Again, are any of these pop-ups related to extensions, possibly required by the site?
If the only pop-up issues are from the site we can't access it makes it hard to lay the problem on Firefox of any version.
Does this site require the use of Flash and if so have you scanned your system for Flash cookies.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 7 guests