MozillaZine


Disable various one-time Mozilla pop-ups about new features

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
c627627

User avatar
 
Posts: 631
Joined: April 3rd, 2005, 12:58 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri

Post Posted January 9th, 2021, 12:42 am

Frequently Mozilla issues a one time popup such as this one:

More secure, encrypted DNS lookups
Your privacy matters. Firefox now securely routes your DNS requests whenever possible to a partner service to protect you while you browse.
OK Got it Disable


For most people that's a one time thing, but if you are reimaging existing profiles, every time you delete a profile and restore a copy of it, you get the same popup because the copy did not trigger the popup yet.

So where is the toggle that tells the profile this popup has already run, so we can toggle it on old profiles?


It would be helpful if there was master switch that blocks these popups. They are helpful for n00bs but for us they are just a nuisance.
Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

morat
 
Posts: 4195
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2021, 8:23 am

You can set preferences that apply to all profiles using the <install directory>\defaults\pref\autoconfig.js file.

Customizing Firefox Using AutoConfig
http://support.mozilla.org/kb/customizi ... autoconfig

Deploying Firefox in an enterprise environment
http://developer.mozilla.org/Firefox/En ... _before_60

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53243
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2021, 4:02 pm

See also the Recommend settings in 'Options -> General -> Browsing".

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4583
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted January 10th, 2021, 6:08 pm

dickvl wrote:See also the Recommend settings in 'Options -> General -> Browsing".


I don't see anything there to turn off notifications.

If there was, wouldn't a completely new profile have reset them. :?:

Even if the user disabled Snippets in Options > Home. That would be reset by a new profile.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

morat
 
Posts: 4195
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted January 10th, 2021, 6:38 pm


c627627

User avatar
 
Posts: 631
Joined: April 3rd, 2005, 12:58 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri

Post Posted January 11th, 2021, 2:05 am

If I understood correctly, the master switch exists and it is
about:config
doh-rollout.enabled

Double click on doh-rollout.enabled to set it to false


This worked for me. morat, thank you very much.
Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

c627627

User avatar
 
Posts: 631
Joined: April 3rd, 2005, 12:58 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri

Post Posted January 11th, 2021, 1:32 pm

While this did disable the pop-up in post#1, I just got this pop-up:

Firefox stopped a social network from tracking you here
Your privacy matters. Firefox now blocks common social media trackers, limiting how much data they can collect about what you do online.
Learn more
See Protections Close



doh-rollout.enabled was already set to FALSE

Therefore, doh-rollout.enabled is not a master switch I assumed it to be.
Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

morat
 
Posts: 4195
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted January 11th, 2021, 3:09 pm

That's a social tracking protection message.

Reference
http://searchfox.org/mozilla-release/search?q=now+blocks+common

DOH stands for (D)ns (O)ver (H)ttps.

c627627

User avatar
 
Posts: 631
Joined: April 3rd, 2005, 12:58 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri

Post Posted January 12th, 2021, 9:06 pm

I see, so the posted solution is for one specific pop-up.

With future iterations of Firefox, there will always be new popups... so if there is no master switch... then we are stuck with popups when using frequently backed up profiles - which will always trigger them.


If Mozilla ever creates a master switch in the future, I hope someone bumps this thread.
Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4583
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted January 13th, 2021, 7:53 am

c627627 wrote:I see, so the posted solution is for one specific pop-up.

With future iterations of Firefox, there will always be new popups... so if there is no master switch... then we are stuck with popups when using frequently backed up profiles - which will always trigger them.


Why do you have to use frequently backed up profiles?
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests