MozillaZine

Disabled ad blocker but still can't access site.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
jedy

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: October 29th, 2003, 5:33 pm

Post Posted January 10th, 2019, 6:43 am

The site independent.co.uk wants me to turn off ad blocking to use their site. I have disabled ad blocking for this site and it is listed in the exceptions but the sites irritating ad block message persists. I've even tried unticking trackers in the Privacy and security menu to no avail. Any ideas what I can do?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120761
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 10th, 2019, 6:53 am

Have you cleared the browser cache and any cookies for that particular site and then restarted the browser?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19235
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted January 10th, 2019, 11:08 am

Are you logging into the site?
Are you using Private Browsing?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10745
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted January 10th, 2019, 1:22 pm

.
I went to independent.co.uk and have uBlock origin and had no issues. Was never asked to turn off ad-blocking.

.
FF 64.0.2 - FF 65b11 - FF 66a - TB 60.4 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20117
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted January 10th, 2019, 1:37 pm

jedy wrote:The site independent.co.uk wants me to turn off ad blocking to use their site.

Yeah? Didn't ask me to.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

jedy

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: October 29th, 2003, 5:33 pm

Post Posted January 11th, 2019, 6:34 am

Thanks for the responses.
I have already emptied cache and cookies. I'm not using provate browsing and cannot log in as I don't get that far.
Something tells me it's recognising Firefox's in built tracker blocker. Simply disabling it for this particular site or trying to disable the tracker blocker completely doesn't help either.

I have tested this site using Opera's browser, which has an in built ad blocker. I see this message with this browser too. Disabling the ad blocker for the Independent site works in this browser, just not in Firefox :-( .

Btw, I often see add blocker mesages on various other sites but usualy you can just close the message and carry on without disabling anything.

This is what I see when trying to access the site:
Image

Kevin McFarlane
 
Posts: 573
Joined: November 10th, 2009, 3:47 am

Post Posted January 11th, 2019, 7:23 am

jedy wrote:Thanks for the responses.
I have already emptied cache and cookies. I'm not using provate browsing and cannot log in as I don't get that far.
Something tells me it's recognising Firefox's in built tracker blocker. Simply disabling it for this particular site or trying to disable the tracker blocker completely doesn't help either.

I have tested this site using Opera's browser, which has an in built ad blocker. I see this message with this browser too. Disabling the ad blocker for the Independent site works in this browser, just not in Firefox :-( .

Btw, I often see add blocker mesages on various other sites but usualy you can just close the message and carry on without disabling anything.

This is what I see when trying to access the site:
Image


I get the same behaviour as you in Opera and also in Safari on my iPad. I tried in Firefox just now and don't get the popup.

It's something that's been added recently, though I don't understand how Firefox is immune (for me and the other posters).

jedy

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: October 29th, 2003, 5:33 pm

Post Posted January 13th, 2019, 3:00 am

Kevin McFarlane wrote:I get the same behaviour as you in Opera and also in Safari on my iPad. I tried in Firefox just now and don't get the popup.

It's something that's been added recently, though I don't understand how Firefox is immune (for me and the other posters).

Interesting. I don’t get any ad block pop up message at all when using Safari on my iPad and I do use a content blocker.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests