MozillaZine


Notified About Changes to Computer

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
tommyk
 
Posts: 130
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 6:05 am

All of a sudden I am getting a pop up box saying if I want a software to make changes to my computer.

It's Crap Cleaner which I've been using for years.

What is up with this and what is the "change" it wants to make?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39667
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 8:45 am

Hi,
I suspect that "they", the CCleaner folks, are adding too many "features" to their program. (Just like AVAST/AVG & others have done.)
I have no idea exactly what it wants to "change."
Perhaps if you ask/check at their forum?
Read all the "stuff" that they are now including, just for you.
> https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download
Help for you here... > https://www.ccleaner.com/support

You may want to check this post out...
> https://community.ccleaner.com/topic/60 ... regret-it/

I stuck with version 2.x.x.x for that reason.
It just works.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-79.0-93.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tommyk
 
Posts: 130
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 9:34 am

I'm using the latest Free Version.

When I open the "change" box up pops "It's time for your PC Health Check" and it goes through whatever it's checking.

This box appears every time I start the PC and is annoying.

Is there an alternative to CCleaner that just cleans rather than going through unwanted "checking"?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39667
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 10:08 am

Hi,
I can supply/PM you the link to my mediafire site where version 2.34.1200 is....if you want.
I believe it's the portable version & does not include any crapola.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-79.0-93.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125476
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 10:10 am

Unless you have some specific clean up requirement outside of Firefox, you might just dump Ccleaner all together as unnecessary. Firefox can clean up its own cache, history, etc.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39667
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 10:24 am

Hi Dan,
Yes. There is that as well.
I should have added that snippet too.
Thanks.
(But, one can remove (via the CC Applications Tab) Firefox/Mozilla products from any scans if required. I have.)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-79.0-93.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

morat
 
Posts: 4855
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 10:32 am

Omit.
Last edited by morat on August 5th, 2021, 4:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tommyk
 
Posts: 130
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 11:49 am

DanRaisch wrote:Unless you have some specific clean up requirement outside of Firefox, you might just dump Ccleaner all together as unnecessary. Firefox can clean up its own cache, history, etc.


How do I do that?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125476
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 2:49 pm

Try pressing Ctrl+Shift+Del and select which elements you want deleted.

tommyk
 
Posts: 130
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2021, 3:15 pm

I found a number of alternatives to CCleaner. Some cost money others are free:

Anyone know about these:

https://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/top ... ernatives/

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39667
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 7th, 2021, 3:39 am

Hi,
No Sir.
Never heard of any, so take your pick.
I'd create a Restore Point before any installation...JIC.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-79.0-93.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125476
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 7th, 2021, 4:17 am

Shouldn't really be necessary.

tommyk
 
Posts: 130
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2021, 6:54 am

DanRaisch wrote:Try pressing Ctrl+Shift+Del and select which elements you want deleted.


When do I press Ctrl+Shift=Del?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125476
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 7th, 2021, 7:23 am

When ever you want. It brings up a dialogue titled "Clear recent history" in which you can pick the elements you want cleaned up. It includes cache and cookies, off-line site data, active logins (submitted log in data) form and search history. You can also select a time frame for that clean up, such as last hour, last two hours, today, everything. It will basically do for Firefox what you were using Ccleaner to do.

tommyk
 
Posts: 130
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2021, 9:27 am

DanRaisch wrote:When ever you want. It brings up a dialogue titled "Clear recent history" in which you can pick the elements you want cleaned up. It includes cache and cookies, off-line site data, active logins (submitted log in data) form and search history. You can also select a time frame for that clean up, such as last hour, last two hours, today, everything. It will basically do for Firefox what you were using Ccleaner to do.


I pressed Ctrl+Shift+Del and nothing happened!

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest