MozillaZine

FF can’t establish a connection to the server at www.google.

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
cbwilsha
 
Posts: 30
Joined: May 6th, 2009, 11:56 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2017, 8:49 am

dfoulkes, I intended to try Safe mode today but early users of the latest build 15014 of Windows 10 report problems with it so I'll wait on that. Meanwhile, I can use either Yahoo or the Start Search option you turned me onto. Thanks again!

C.B.

cbwilsha
 
Posts: 30
Joined: May 6th, 2009, 11:56 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2017, 6:10 pm

Well, I couldn't resist trying Safe Mode and that was a bad mistake., It is broken badly in Insiders Preview Build 15014 and took me 25 minutes to work my way back to a normal mode. I've reported it to our Microsoft contact.

C.B.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 115518
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 20th, 2017, 8:14 pm

cbwilsha wrote:Well, I couldn't resist trying Safe Mode and that was a bad mistake., It is broken badly in Insiders Preview Build 15014


Were you trying Windows Safe Mode or Mozilla Safe Mode because our recommendation was for the latter.

ikrar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: January 21st, 2017, 5:53 am
Location: Unblocked

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 5:57 am

Check your setting, I have same problem some days ago, GO and disable all the add-ons from the menu..

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37072
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 6:08 am

ikrar,
Firefox' "Safe Mode" does more than that, automatically.
No need to manually disable the extensions.
Please ref; the KB article... > http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode

&, I believe that df did recommend an OS reboot into safe mode as a test, albeit a tad difficult with WIN 10?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.9.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 21881
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 11:52 am

LIMPET235 wrote:&, I believe that df did recommend an OS reboot into safe mode as a test, albeit a tad difficult with WIN 10?


Since I'm on Win7... forever :-" ... what part of a Win10 safe-mode function is so messed up... have you done one yet?
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

cbwilsha
 
Posts: 30
Joined: May 6th, 2009, 11:56 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 5:29 pm

Yes, dfoulkes, I did a FF Safe Mode early on. My Win 10 Beta Build Safe Mode appears to be working but within a few seconds of the Desktop appearing, it starts flashing on and off every 2 or 3 seconds and you can't do anything with the mouse or keyboard. A hard reset just starts back up the same way. I finally used a Macrium Reflect rescue disk to recover. Quite a few other testers are having the same problem.

C.B.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37072
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 3:36 am

df,
If you are asking me this "have you done one yet?"
Do not take my UA as gospel.
I too, am sticking with WIN 7. ( I can dual boot to WIN 10, if required.)

& CB, I've always found it to be a tad quicker & easier to visit their site for any probs with WIN 10.
viz; > https://www.tenforums.com/
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.9.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 21881
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 10:48 am

LIMPET235 wrote:df,
If you are asking me this "have you done one yet?"
Do not take my UA as gospel.
I too, am sticking with WIN 7. ( I can dual boot to WIN 10, if required.)


Yep... I was asking you ... thanks for feeding back.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37072
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 10:20 pm

No probs, df.

:)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.9.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests