MozillaZine

UserContent.css issues

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
amrad
 
Posts: 2208
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted January 5th, 2017, 11:30 am

LIMPET235 wrote:I doubt whether anyone will touch that particular thread, Dave.
Frank would be most "upset".....again.
:)

To quote Frank...
Don't you just hate it when someone post some really long code or big image here and it breaks the page width?

Plus, he posted the code to fix it for those guys as well.

I put that code in my "userContent.css" file but it hasn't stopped large code boxes from breaking the forum layout, as I assume it should:

Code: Select all
/*.......Frank Resize wide post pages - put in userContent.css.........*/
 div.postbody {
   max-width: 650px;
    overflow: auto !important; }

Regards,

Dave.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted January 5th, 2017, 12:16 pm

@amrad: This alone works for me -
Code: Select all
div.postbody {
  max-width: 650px;
}


You may need to adjust the '650px' to fit your browser window.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11080
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted January 5th, 2017, 1:23 pm

Have no idea how original post managed to find it's way here.
Last edited by Grumpus on January 7th, 2017, 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 18996
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted January 5th, 2017, 1:30 pm

barbaz wrote:@amrad: This alone works for me -
Code: Select all
div.postbody {
  max-width: 650px;
}


Wouldn't hurt to sling in an !important at the end maybe, just in case an extension is forcing width. Mind you, in 10+ years of using that I've never come across an extension that did that.

The easiest 'workaround' is just to go to another page in MozillaZine...ain't like there's a lack of choice.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

amrad
 
Posts: 2208
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted January 5th, 2017, 3:58 pm

barbaz wrote:@amrad: This alone works for me -
Code: Select all
div.postbody {
  max-width: 650px;
}

You may need to adjust the '650px' to fit your browser window.

I tried that, it made no difference, regardless of the value of npx.

Image

Screen resolution: 1680 x 1050.

Regards,

Dave.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted January 5th, 2017, 5:13 pm

Did you restart SeaMonkey after adding/changing that code?
If so, can you please post your full userContent.css?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

amrad
 
Posts: 2208
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted January 6th, 2017, 5:57 am

barbaz wrote:Did you restart SeaMonkey after adding/changing that code?
If so, can you please post your full userContent.css?

Yes. Here's my complete userContent.css file:

Code: Select all
    /*.......Frank Resize wide post pages - put in userContent.css.........*/
     div.postbody {
       max-width: 650px;
        overflow: auto !important; }


Regards,

Dave.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted January 6th, 2017, 10:26 am

Try this -
Code: Select all
@namespace url(http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml);

/*.......Frank Resize wide post pages - put in userContent.css.........*/
div.postbody {
  max-width: 650px !important;
}
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

amrad
 
Posts: 2208
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted January 6th, 2017, 12:31 pm

@barbaz.

That doesn't make any difference.

Regards,

Dave.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted January 6th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Where is your userContent.css file located? Path is case-sensitive.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

amrad
 
Posts: 2208
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted January 6th, 2017, 4:43 pm

@ Barbaz,

My userContent.css file is located here:

C:\Users\Dave\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\Profiles\b7byoafv.default

Regards,

Dave.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted January 6th, 2017, 4:54 pm

amrad wrote:@ Barbaz,

My userContent.css file is located here:

C:\Users\Dave\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\Profiles\b7byoafv.default

There's your problem, it's not quite in the right place. Move it to
Code: Select all
C:\Users\Dave\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\Profiles\b7byoafv.default\chrome\

If your profile folder does not contain a "chrome" folder, go ahead and create it.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

amrad
 
Posts: 2208
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted January 7th, 2017, 5:22 am

barbaz wrote:There's your problem, it's not quite in the right place. Move it to

Code: Select all
C:\Users\Dave\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\Profiles\b7byoafv.default\chrome\

If your profile folder does not contain a "chrome" folder, go ahead and create it.

Thanks, that fixed it. I just left it where I found it!

Regards,

Dave.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted January 7th, 2017, 12:08 pm

You're welcome! 8-)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: danboone and 3 guests