MozillaZine

How to tell composer not to smart replace < > ?

Composer, ChatZilla and other Mozilla applications, along with Netscape, Galeon, K-Meleon and other products.
sanderg

User avatar
 
Posts: 88
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 5:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted October 16th, 2003, 6:10 am

I would like Composer to _not_ replace characters like "<" and ">" by their HTML equivalents because our CMS will replace text between <brackets> by an automatic link.

I could not find an option to turn this off. Is it hidden somewhere or should this be an enhancement?

glazman
 
Posts: 23
Joined: May 12th, 2003, 1:23 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2003, 2:55 pm

that's impossible.
< and > are special characters in SGML and XML (and hence in HTML).
If > could be preserved, we must turn < into &lt;, there is no other choice.

alanjstr
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here

Post Posted October 17th, 2003, 5:36 pm

glazman:

I think what sandberg is trying to say is that they're not trying to generate perfect html. Output from Composer is used as a template, with their content management system replacing <foo> on the fly.

Code: Select all
<p>My <foo> likes to chase the <bar> </p>

winds up as
Code: Select all
<p>My dog likes to chase the cat </p>
Former UMO Admin, Former MozillaZine General Mod
I am rarely on mozillaZine, so please do not send me a private message.
My Old Firefox config files

Return to Other Applications and Distributions


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests