MozillaZine

Multi XPunge

Discussion of features in Mozilla Thunderbird
ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 551
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted March 3rd, 2010, 1:20 am

Hi all,

Does anyone else use this add-on? I have too many accounts & e-mail addresses to be able to delete trash & compact every folder & while I assume this add-on does the job I'm not sure since recently 2 e-mails I had skimmed went missing & that concerns me that I may be losing e-mails b/c of an overload.

Thanks


Michelle

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

howdy Michelle,

i use the following ...
os = win xp pro, sp3
tb = 3.0.3
xpunge = 0.4

multi-xpunge does work for me. i can see it working thru my folders when i hit the button. [*grin*] i don't use the timer, so i dunno if that works. you DO need to add the accounts to the list on the multi-xpunge tab of the xpunge options panel.

hope that helps,
lee

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 551
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 3:31 pm

Hi Lee,

Oh that's all done, I just don't see it doing anything other than tying up my TB :) Where do you see it flipping thru the folders?


Michelle

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 5:23 pm

howdy Michelle,

i have installed this addon ...
Extra Folder Columns

... to add back the "total" and "size" columns in the folderpane. then i keep the folderpane view set to "all folders". the result is a running, visible change in the "size" column while the multi-xpunge function runs thru my folders. of course, folders that have no stuff to purge don't change size ... [*grin*]

take care,
lee

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 551
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 8:33 pm

Hmm, seems like there were some changes in TB3 I'm not aware of since I'm still using TB2, but a lot of people were complaining about this add-on & I'm not quite understanding all the complaints & whether they are for TB2 or 3 or just re the add-on, etc.

Thanks


Michelle

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 3:18 pm

howdy Michelle,

most of the complaints i've seen are that the feature was removed from tb3. not that the addon was _bad_ but that _needing_ it was bad. i've seen no problems with the addon itself. as a matter of fact, there is a discussion in one of the developer forums indicating they may add a note pointing it out to folks who are upgrading from tb2 and who have the extra columns turned on. [*grin*]

take care,
lee

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 551
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 5:46 pm

Ahh, thanks for that.

So I just tried to install it & it won't b/c I'm not on TB3 :( but I'm afraid to upgrade b/c who knows what else has changed in that new version. Can you tell me if there was anything significant about the changes to that version? I'm surprised TB hasn't even prompted me to upgrade.

Are enough people complaining about this 3rd pane that you think TB will put it back in? I don't even know what they are talking about of course :)

TTYL


Michelle

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 6:10 pm

howdy Michelle,

arg! [*blush*] i thot you were running tb3! um, er, oops!

what version are you running? tb2 won't ask you to upgrade until tb3 is at a stage that the developers think warrants _encouraging_ upgrading. that'll pro'ly be version 3.1 or thereabouts.
Are enough people complaining about this 3rd pane that you think TB will put it back in? I don't even know what they are talking about of course.


i'm uncertain what you are referring to. this article on thunderbird's layout might help.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Window_layout_-_Thunderbird

take care,
lee

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 551
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 12:23 am

Just referring to whatever they are complaining about in the reviews of that add-on :)

Thanks Lee


Mich

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 6:33 am

howdy Mich,

ah! they are complaining about the removal of the feature and the need to replace it via an addon. [*grin*] i misunderstood your point. [*blush*]

take care,
lee

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 551
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 5:25 pm

Right & what feature is that? I still don't understand. :)


Michelle

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107684
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 5:52 pm

I answered that question in this thread, Michelle.

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 7:09 pm

howdy Michelle,

do you know what the folderpane is? [*grin*] if so, then the feature folks are talking about is the ability to show more than just the folder name and unread msg count. the "Extra Folder Columns" addon allows you to display additional columns - such as "total" [the full msg count in that folder], "size" and "unread". the last of those is ... pretty redundant. [*grin*] i turn on SIZE and TOTAL cuz i wanna see that info. it's the SIZE column that allows me to see when multi-xpunge is working it's way thru my folders.

here's my rather odd looking tb3 main window. note the TOTAL and SIZE columns on the folderpane. you CANNOT display those in tb3 now without an addon. you COULD display them in tb2 as they were built in.
Image

take care,
lee

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 551
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 7:20 pm

Thanks a ton Lee. I'll be upgrading soon, maybe this wknd. :)

Have a great night


Michelle

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 7th, 2010, 12:27 pm

howdy Michelle,

you are quite welcome! glad to help a bit now and then.

take care,
lee

Return to Thunderbird Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests