MozillaZine


Adding Bold to Previously Send Message

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
Bluelead
 
Posts: 97
Joined: October 28th, 2009, 5:35 pm

Post Posted May 17th, 2021, 11:13 pm

When I send a message the first time, I have all the enhancements (Bold Underline etc.) in bar to use. However, when I use the "edit as new" feature the enhancements bar is not there. How do get the same enhancement bar back to use on the "edit as new" message. Usually, I want the same list of recipients and only want to add a correction, etc. to the original message. And, have the enhancements available for the edited message. I am using Windows 7 and SeaMonkey 2.53.7.1. Thank you.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125436
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 18th, 2021, 4:56 am

Try holding down the Shift key when you click on "Edit as new".

Bluelead
 
Posts: 97
Joined: October 28th, 2009, 5:35 pm

Post Posted May 18th, 2021, 2:08 pm

That worked!! I don't know why it worked, but very glad. For years I have been frustrated with that issue. Many thanks!

Justinh
 
Posts: 336
Joined: November 13th, 2004, 7:03 pm
Location: Alabama

Post Posted May 18th, 2021, 4:11 pm

DanRaisch wrote:Try holding down the Shift key when you click on "Edit as new".

Do you know why the behavior is this way? What is he logic for it?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125436
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 18th, 2021, 4:18 pm

Holding down the shift key toggles from whatever the default formatting is for message composition. That is, if the default is plain text, holding down the shift key would cause TB to bring up the message for HTML formatting (providing for bold, italic, changes to font color, etc). If the default, on the other hand, is for HTML formatting, holding down the shift key causes TB to bring up plain text formatting for the massage being composed.

Justinh
 
Posts: 336
Joined: November 13th, 2004, 7:03 pm
Location: Alabama

Post Posted May 18th, 2021, 5:44 pm

Thanks for the info.

Bluelead
 
Posts: 97
Joined: October 28th, 2009, 5:35 pm

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 3:54 pm

I understand the use of the toggle switching, but it doesn't always switch and allow me to have the editing bar with Bold, etc. What am I doing wrong or is there a way to make it permanent with all my Edit As New? Thanks!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125436
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 5:22 pm

What version of Thunderbird are you running?

trevoz
 
Posts: 47
Joined: December 12th, 2005, 9:40 pm

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 10:36 pm

DanRaisch wrote:What version of Thunderbird are you running?


In his first post the OP said " I am using Windows 7 and SeaMonkey 2.53.7.1.".

Bluelead
 
Posts: 97
Joined: October 28th, 2009, 5:35 pm

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 11:14 pm

I don't use Thunderbird. I just downloaded SeaMonkey 2.53.9. Still using Windows 7 Professional and
Firefox 9.0.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125436
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 16th, 2021, 10:27 am

trevoz wrote:
DanRaisch wrote:What version of Thunderbird are you running?


In his first post the OP said " I am using Windows 7 and SeaMonkey 2.53.7.1.".


Sorry, I lost track of that. (We see a lot more posts for TB than we do for SeaMonkey.)

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests