MozillaZine

Emulate ActiveX?

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
Wish You Were Here
 
Posts: 59
Joined: April 10th, 2010, 1:39 am

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 7:49 am

I have a couple of IP cameras set up that only work in IE due to their need for ActiveX. Is there an add-on of any kind to emulate that in SM, so I don't have to fall back to IE?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117977
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 7:57 am

No, there are too many security issues with ActiveX for that to be implemented. What is available, however is an extension that launches IE from within SeaMonkey -- https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamon ... src=search

Wish You Were Here
 
Posts: 59
Joined: April 10th, 2010, 1:39 am

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 8:09 am

This add-on is not compatible with your version of SeaMonkey.


Options?

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 239
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 9:05 am


Wish You Were Here
 
Posts: 59
Joined: April 10th, 2010, 1:39 am

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 9:30 am

This add-on is not compatible with your version of SeaMonkey.


Older Version look like they might, but I can't be sure.

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 239
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 9:52 am

You might want to try the "Download Anyway" button. If it gives you an .xpi file, save it and then drag it onto the browser.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27114
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 1:55 pm

Wish You Were Here wrote:I have a couple of IP cameras set up that only work in IE due to their need for ActiveX. Is there an add-on of any kind to emulate that in SM, so I don't have to fall back to IE?

Over ten years ago there used to be ActiveX plugins that somebody built but it was for a limited purpose. http://kb.mozillazine.org/ActiveX

Basically just use a IE window for this one thing or use one of the suggested Extensions that will open the IE installed on Windows in a tab in SeaMonkey. They are not IE emulators. Though those two extensions were made for SeaMonkey 2.40 (two.forty) or older like 2.8 (two.eight).

Wish You Were Here
 
Posts: 59
Joined: April 10th, 2010, 1:39 am

Post Posted September 22nd, 2017, 1:37 pm

James wrote:Basically just use a IE window for this one thing ...


I guess that's my only option as I'm not comfortable with the others.

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest