MozillaZine

The future of Seamonkey?

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted July 23rd, 2017, 3:59 pm

Above someone said they would like Seamonkey to appear more like Firefox. I don't like the Firefox screen too many icons and not enough words.

On my Seamonkey screen, to the extent that I can control, there are NO ICONS. Nothing makes more sense that simply placing the word FILE, EDIT, VIEW, GO, ... etc on the screen, and WORDS take up much less screen real estate. And ...believe it or not... "FILE" is much more intuitive than silly squiggles and swirls on the tool bar. Though for me, COMPACT is the key issue, words are far more compact that Icons. Though also, as mentioned far more intuitive. File means FILE, Edit means EDIT. I don't have to try and remember what some vague squiggly image is suppose to mean.

There is one thing I desperately need though, and I'm not sure it would be possible, but SCRIPT MANAGER.

If anything locks up Seamonkey or slows my Browsing experience to a crawl, it is psycho-scripts gone astray. When script stalls or go into an infinite loop or just generally crashes, it would be nice to bring up a list of running scripts and to be able to kill one specific script that is causing the problem. Yes, if I want 20 minutes with a stalled browser, a window will pop up asking me if I want to let the Script run or kill it, but that's 20 minutes of my time wasted.

Steve/bluewizard

tonymec

User avatar
 
Posts: 703
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 2:58 am
Location: Schaerbeek (near Brussels, Belgium)

Post Posted July 23rd, 2017, 8:28 pm

bluewizard wrote:Above someone said they would like Seamonkey to appear more like Firefox. I don't like the Firefox screen too many icons and not enough words.

On my Seamonkey screen, to the extent that I can control, there are NO ICONS. Nothing makes more sense that simply placing the word FILE, EDIT, VIEW, GO, ... etc on the screen, and WORDS take up much less screen real estate. And ...believe it or not... "FILE" is much more intuitive than silly squiggles and swirls on the tool bar. Though for me, COMPACT is the key issue, words are far more compact that Icons. Though also, as mentioned far more intuitive. File means FILE, Edit means EDIT. I don't have to try and remember what some vague squiggly image is suppose to mean.

There is one thing I desperately need though, and I'm not sure it would be possible, but SCRIPT MANAGER.

If anything locks up Seamonkey or slows my Browsing experience to a crawl, it is psycho-scripts gone astray. When script stalls or go into an infinite loop or just generally crashes, it would be nice to bring up a list of running scripts and to be able to kill one specific script that is causing the problem. Yes, if I want 20 minutes with a stalled browser, a window will pop up asking me if I want to let the Script run or kill it, but that's 20 minutes of my time wasted.

Steve/bluewizard

See:
Integer prefs in about:config, values in seconds, zero means "forever".
Best regards,
Tony

bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted July 23rd, 2017, 10:36 pm

OK, that looks helpful, I will check it out in detail later. Thanks.

I'm confused though, Isn't the Integer the time allowed for the script to stall before It is reported. So, FIVE would be what - 5 seconds, 5 minutes? And therefore shouldn't ZERO be Zero time, or not at all?

Again, I just glanced at the links, will look in more detail later.

STeve/bluewizard

tonymec

User avatar
 
Posts: 703
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 2:58 am
Location: Schaerbeek (near Brussels, Belgium)

Post Posted July 23rd, 2017, 11:29 pm

bluewizard wrote:OK, that looks helpful, I will check it out in detail later. Thanks.

I'm confused though, Isn't the Integer the time allowed for the script to stall before It is reported. So, FIVE would be what - 5 seconds, 5 minutes? And therefore shouldn't ZERO be Zero time, or not at all?

Again, I just glanced at the links, will look in more detail later.

STeve/bluewizard

FIVE (in letters) is invalid. 5 (in digits) means the script is allowed to run continuously for 5 seconds before you get the dialog offering you to kill the script or to let it go on. Killing all scripts before they even run wouldn't make sense, so by convention — and since there is no way to express "infinity" as an integer — if the value of the pref is zero (or negative) scripts are let run forever and the dialog never appears.
Best regards,
Tony

bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted July 24th, 2017, 11:16 am

Thanks to all. I'll try these and see how it works.

Steve/bluewizard

Diamanti
 
Posts: 700
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 9:02 am

Post Posted July 25th, 2017, 9:16 pm

Why akalla is down?

RDaneel
 
Posts: 438
Joined: January 19th, 2004, 2:43 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted July 25th, 2017, 10:39 pm

Indeed - for the last couple of days, the mozilla-community.org domain has not been resolving.

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 231
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 6:01 am

RDaneel wrote:Indeed - for the last couple of days, the mozilla-community.org domain has not been resolving.

This is being tracked by mozilla in bug 1383642.

Diamanti
 
Posts: 700
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 9:02 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2017, 1:41 pm

domain resolved but akalla not found.

4td8s
 
Posts: 576
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted July 29th, 2017, 10:10 am

Diamanti wrote:domain resolved but akalla not found.


Akalla is aware of it and is asking for ETA as to when his stuff will be back online. might take a few more days.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27083
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted July 29th, 2017, 1:02 pm

4td8s wrote:
Diamanti wrote:domain resolved but akalla not found.


Akalla is aware of it and is asking for ETA as to when his stuff will be back online. might take a few more days.

The same link was mentioned in the bug 1383642 mentioned on Wed.

isaacschemm wrote:
RDaneel wrote:Indeed - for the last couple of days, the mozilla-community.org domain has not been resolving.

This is being tracked by mozilla in bug 1383642.

4td8s
 
Posts: 576
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted August 10th, 2017, 10:00 am

James wrote:The same link was mentioned in the bug 1383642 mentioned on Wed.

isaacschemm wrote:
RDaneel wrote:Indeed - for the last couple of days, the mozilla-community.org domain has not been resolving.

This is being tracked by mozilla in bug 1383642.


seems like the OVH server problems are taking longer to fix and Akalla is still waiting for a status report

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest