MozillaZine

Composer-->Image-->Tooltip-->Don't use Alt. Text

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
aaron

User avatar
 
Posts: 3130
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:49 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted September 5th, 2003, 8:14 am

Is there a way either in the prefs dialog or in the prefs.js or about:config to set composer to NOT use alternate text on images as default? Currently, it is set to use alternate text on images by default. Thanks in advance for your time.

Zarggg

User avatar
 
Posts: 203
Joined: June 20th, 2003, 11:09 am

Post Posted September 5th, 2003, 8:17 am

In Mozilla, alt properties will print on the page in place of the image. title is always used for tooltips, unless you install the alt-tooltip extension from MozDev (forget the name, ATM).

Not quite sure what you're asking, though. :?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:34.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/34.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:31.0) Gecko/20100101 Thunderbird/31.2.0

aaron

User avatar
 
Posts: 3130
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:49 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted September 5th, 2003, 9:56 am

basically what i am asking for is this: when i add images to a page in the composer, it throws the following dialog:

<a href="http://www.cs.swt.edu/~as1130/theme/picture.jpg">click here</a>

(i don't know how to attach the image to the post, tried <img src="http://www.cs.swt.edu/~as1130/theme/picture.jpg"> but that didn't work -- if anyone could advise on that, it would be appreciated)

what i would like to do is to have "Don't use alternate text" be the default, so I don't have to select it EVERY time. Thanks in advance for your time.

JLP
 
Posts: 161
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 3:53 am
Location: Slovenia

Post Posted September 6th, 2003, 1:44 am

I think they will not make Don't use... as default because it is recommended you always put alternate text to images (for text browsers and if image can't be shown or is disabled). I think it is even a must have attribute by theHTML specification.
Live long and prosper!

bomfog
 
Posts: 455
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:22 pm
Location: the palouse, SE. WA, USA

Post Posted September 8th, 2003, 12:57 pm

JLP wrote:I think they will not make Don't use... as default because it is recommended you always put alternate text to images (for text browsers and if image can't be shown or is disabled). I think it is even a must have attribute by theHTML specification.

Actually, I think the recommendation is to always use the alt attribute, but to leave it blank (alt="") unless the information conveyed by the image is necessary for navigation and/or use of the site. The "Don't use alt" option in Composer seems to do the right thing, but the "Use alt" option doesn't seem to allow using an empty alt. That's bad, IMO.

Text-mode browsers (well, at least lynx) do the right thing with empty alts, and ignore the images completely. As a long-time lynxist, I've seen many pages crammed with scores if not hundreds of images using alt="spacer.gif", alt="1234.jpg", and the like. These all get displayed. I'm not convinced that's better than no alts at all. Even alt="cute bunny picture" is pretty useless for accessibility purposes. My experience is that only a small number of images on a page actually call for a non-empty alt string.

Given the variety of uses, mis-uses, and abuses of the alt attribute, I think defaulting to "alt with an empty string" is pretty reasonable, and, if it's a pref, find it hard to see how there would be valid objections.

But I could be wrong.

aaron

User avatar
 
Posts: 3130
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:49 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted September 9th, 2003, 9:49 am

Ya, I would like the option to use a blank string as alt text instead of having to select "don't use alt text" every time.

tbarbara
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: August 28th, 2017, 2:27 am

Post Posted August 28th, 2017, 2:32 am

Hi, did you ever got an answer to your question? I am going thru the very same thing. It is a pain to have to click "don't use alternate text" every single time I insert a picture :(

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37588
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 28th, 2017, 4:16 am

tbarbara,
Would you please...check the date before posting in future, as this thread died way back in 2003.

Just start a new thread, stating your problem.

Thank you.

Locking this oldie..
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest