MozillaZine


Size/Attachments Columns in Mail View

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
david55475

User avatar
 
Posts: 98
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 3:35 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted November 25th, 2002, 3:34 am

Hi, this may have been covered before, and if so I apologize, but I couldn't find it.

Is it possible to show Size and Attachments columns when viewing Mail ? They don't appear in the list of available columns, and I would have thought those two would be essential viewing :-) - I'd really like to see them, anyway.

Thanks,
Dave
Dave
Cunningly disguised as a responsible adult

Gunnar

User avatar
 
Posts: 729
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:55 am

Post Posted November 25th, 2002, 4:34 am

Hi,

"Size" is available. Click on the odd symbol (dunno what it's called) above the scrollbar (far right) in the mailnews window and select "size" from the list.

Gunnar
http://mozilla.gunnars.net - The Mozilla Help Site

Alex Bishop
mozillaZine Admin

User avatar
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 3:18 am
Location: London

Post Posted November 25th, 2002, 4:40 am

david55475 wrote:Is it possible to show Size and Attachments columns when viewing Mail ? They don't appear in the list of available columns, and I would have thought those two would be essential viewing :-) - I'd really like to see them, anyway.

There's definitely a Size column, click the column picker (the funny little box at the right of the column headings) to select it.

<img src="http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/attachment.cgi?id=93895&action=view" width="567" height="312" alt="">

I don't think there's an Attachments column (I haven't got a build handy to check) but the little envelope icons should sport paperclips when a message has an attachment.
Alex

david55475

User avatar
 
Posts: 98
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 3:35 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted November 25th, 2002, 10:20 pm

Uh, sorry guys, but unless I'm going blind (definitely a possibility), I don't see a Size column in that list. I know Lines does something similar, but that's not a useful number for a message with attachments.

Yes, there's a paperclip on messages with attachments - thanks for that.

What's the rationale behind having a Lines column, but not Size ?

Dave
Dave
Cunningly disguised as a responsible adult

Gunnar

User avatar
 
Posts: 729
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:55 am

Post Posted November 26th, 2002, 4:16 am

Funny - I'm using 1.0.1 and I don't see a "lines" column, but I have a size column (see image), which, IMHO, makes more sense than a column for the number (?) of lines

Image
http://mozilla.gunnars.net - The Mozilla Help Site

cgr
 
Posts: 23
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 6:58 am
Location: Germany

Post Posted November 26th, 2002, 5:56 am

I believe "size" shows up for mail only and "lines" shows up for news only.

david55475

User avatar
 
Posts: 98
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 3:35 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted November 26th, 2002, 10:36 pm

cgr wrote:I believe "size" shows up for mail only and "lines" shows up for news only.


You're absolutely right; I never noticed that before ! That makes more sense.

Thanks,
Dave
:-)
Dave
Cunningly disguised as a responsible adult

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests