MozillaZine

Opening links in browser from TB

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
jl123
 
Posts: 77
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 4:52 pm

All of a sudden I am unable to click on a link in an email and have it open in Firefox.
This true whether it is a link by itself or an embedded on in a picture.

I can do a right click on the link and select Open in Browser to accomplish this task.

Any suggestions on how to get it to properly?

FF is set as my default.

I am using TB 51.0b1 and FF 51.0b1
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Private Firewall

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 116619
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 5:04 pm

When you click on a link in Thunderbird it sends a call to the operating system to launch the default browser. When the OS does not "remember" what application is to be the default or when a Windows Registry setting is not updated during an install, nothing happens, just as you have seen. See this link to set the default browser -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Setting_Your_Default_Browser It may be necessary to try all of the procedures listed in the article, rebooting the system between procedures.

jl123
 
Posts: 77
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 22nd, 2016, 5:28 pm

Thanks I will let you know what the outcome is.
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Private Firewall

jl123
 
Posts: 77
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2016, 7:14 am

Well after checking and reconfiguring and removing and reinstalling TB this bug (?) still exists.

I guess I will have to live with it.
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Private Firewall

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted November 24th, 2016, 9:11 am

Sometimes whether Fx is your default browser or not, clicking a link in an email or other application may not launch the right browser.

Close Firefox completely.
Try launching the profile manager using the start dialog box entering: Firefox.exe -p
Verify the correct profile is selected as the default (if you have reinstalled and use the default it may change on a reinstall). If it is different perhaps the selected profile has been removed and it won't start Firefox.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

jl123
 
Posts: 77
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2016, 9:31 am

It is using the correct (default) profile.

I am wondering if it something in how the send embeds the URL in the emails.
Whether it is in a picture or by its self.

Thanks for your help.
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Private Firewall

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted November 26th, 2016, 9:28 am

jl123 wrote:It is using the correct (default) profile.

I am wondering if it something in how the send embeds the URL in the emails.
Whether it is in a picture or by its self.

Thanks for your help.


Asking in a nice way :) How do you know it is using the right profile?

Original post:
All of a sudden I am unable to click on a link in an email and have it open in Firefox.


Can you clarify?
- You open an email
- You click a link in the email
- What happens next...can you fill in?

Does it matter if Fx is open or closed? It should launch Fx even if Fx is not running.

You might cut and paste a link to this forum and email it to yourself and see what happens.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

jl123
 
Posts: 77
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 26th, 2016, 9:52 am

Since there is only 1 profile listed or showing that is how I determined it was the correct profile.

Text links in an email in TB almost always open in FF but sometimes in a TB tab.
But if there is a picture or logo the has an embedded link it opens in a TB tab.

I did send myself a link and it opened in FF.
Strange behavior.
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Private Firewall

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 116619
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 26th, 2016, 3:47 pm

Is Firefox set as the system's default browser?
Is there a particular reason you are using a beta version of Firefox?
Have you tried launching Thunderbird in Mozilla Safe Mode?

jl123
 
Posts: 77
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 26th, 2016, 3:54 pm

Is Firefox set as the system's default browser?
Yes
Is there a particular reason you are using a beta version of Firefox?
No particular reason. Except it is interesting to test newer versions before they become official. That way if there is a problem
like this maybe it is in the program and then it can be fixed. That is if someone from TB developers see it.

Have you tried launching Thunderbird in Mozilla Safe Mode?
Yes. Same results.
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Private Firewall

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted November 28th, 2016, 11:07 am

Are you speaking of two different kinds of links like a text link vs a picture link? These two are both the same.

This:

https://www.yahoo.com/

or this:

Image
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

jl123
 
Posts: 77
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2016, 12:55 pm

Yes.
They are both showing the same web page URL (link).

The link embedded in the picture opens in TB while the stand alone link opens in FF.
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Private Firewall

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 116619
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 28th, 2016, 3:18 pm

Do you have the extension Thunderbrowse installed in that Thunderbird profile?

jl123
 
Posts: 77
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 6:56 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2016, 3:36 pm

No Thunderbrowse
The only extension I have is Lightning
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Private Firewall

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted November 28th, 2016, 6:05 pm

If those two links (image and text) which both are yahoo.com I am at a loss for any more ideas. If they provide different results I have no more clues...sorry :(
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

Return to Thunderbird Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest