MozillaZine

TotalMessage- experimental html5 rewrite of Tb message pane

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
alta88
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 23rd, 2011, 5:49 pm

there are 2 buttons always visible, select all toggle and options. if you click select an attachment in the list, or select all, buttons will appear that are appropriate to the message and attachment state. so, an already detached/deleted attachment won't evoke a button. click around..

mad.engineer
 
Posts: 314
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 4:08 pm

Post Posted March 23rd, 2011, 6:24 pm

OK, I figured out what you were referring to regarding the buttons and again, from an average end user's perspective, I don't think that everyone will figure it out in the first place. So, some further comments and feedback, hopefully to make it more intuitive.

1. Note that I use IMAP and not POP. By default TB downloads attachments in chunks and in the background silently. I happen to have set the mail.imap.mime_parts_on_demand=false and mail.imap.fetch_by_chunks=false forcing TB to download/fetch attachments completely when opening a message. So, unless you do this first or TB fetches the attachments completely, the buttons that you are referring to will not be displayed.

2. The buttons that you are referring to are only "Delete Selected attachments" and "Detach selected attachments to file", but still no "Save/Save All". If I understand correctly, Detaching a file means you're separating the file from the message which most people including myself normally do not do. I like to keep the attachments with the message and save them locally if I need to. So, I consider having the option of Saving the file as normal a much desired feature. Thanks

alta88
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 24th, 2011, 11:48 am

1. i intend to go one further and see if it's possible (may not be) to not download attachments unless they are specifically requested, even if the mail is selected. so there will be a button for download (imap centric meaning).

2. there will be an 'extract/save to fiile' button. it's not displayed yet, like for feed attachments, where it's called download.

JoeS

User avatar
 
Posts: 2337
Joined: June 8th, 2003, 9:15 am

Post Posted March 26th, 2011, 4:13 pm

One thing that I miss dearly.
Using the "end" key to scroll down to the end for messages that reply/quoted to a long thread in newsgroups.
It's a pain to have to scroll down when the "end" key doesn't work.
JoeS Testing current Thunderbird trunk builds WinXP SP2+
news://news.mozilla.org.mozilla.test.multimedia How to Post

alta88
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 27th, 2011, 2:52 pm

do you mean in a long message content or in threadpane? because in a message, <end> takes me to the bottom if the focus is on the message.

i think i'll add a mouseover focuser for various panes, like slick apps have..

alta88
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 27th, 2011, 2:55 pm

TotalMessage now has a homepage and is an experimental addon on AMO.

mad.engineer
 
Posts: 314
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 4:08 pm

Post Posted March 27th, 2011, 6:34 pm

1) There is no change log listed on the homepage to know what has been fixed/added in rc3 over rc2?.
2) Does your add-on keep the mailnews.headers.show_n_lines_before_more value set intact? Say if I have set this value to 5, then I'll see a "more" option if the headers are > 5?. Thanks

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 45402
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted April 7th, 2011, 3:03 am

TotalMessage 1.0rc3 caused Thunderbird 3.3a4pre ID:20110406030026 to display a empty folder pane, empty folder listing and disabled the message pane. The top of the folder pane still has the horizontal arrows but doesn't list adv. folder view choices such as "All Folders". I can move the right edge of the folder pane. The address book, tools -> options and tools -> account settings are okay but tools -> add-ons, the Write button, menu commands in view -> viewabout and help -> troubleshooting information do nothing. Every entry in View -> Layout is disabled.

The error console had "TM is undefined" errors for over 100 different files.

Error: TM is undefined
Source File: chrome://totalmessage/content/message.js
Line: 3017

Error: gBrowser is not defined
Source File: chrome://nightly/content/browserOverlay.xul
Line: 26

Error: redeclaration of var Cc
Source File: chrome://totalmessage/content/message.js
Line: 38


Running in safe mode to re-enable tools -> addons and then disabling the add-on worked around the problem. What do I need to do to make it work on my system?

From Help -> Troubleshooting (after I disabled the add-on):

Nightly Tester Tools Lite, 0.2.2, true, {BB68DBF8-55E6-45A8-8F9F-D443EDDC12E8}
TB Header Tools Extension, 0.7.1, true, {72C9D014-F94A-4f1a-8FD4-6F160DFE143B}
Personas, 1.6.2, true,
ViewAbout, 2.0.1, true,
Add-on Compatibility Reporter, 0.8.2, true,
TotalMessage, 1.0rc3, false,

JoeS

User avatar
 
Posts: 2337
Joined: June 8th, 2003, 9:15 am

Post Posted April 7th, 2011, 7:41 am

I seem to recall having a similar problem early on in my testing.
You might try having TB in the "classic" view when you enable the extension.
Maybe had to toggle the view setting as well.
Not sure what errors were present at that time.
JoeS Testing current Thunderbird trunk builds WinXP SP2+
news://news.mozilla.org.mozilla.test.multimedia How to Post

alta88
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted April 7th, 2011, 3:19 pm

tanstaafl wrote:TotalMessage 1.0rc3 caused Thunderbird 3.3a4pre ID:20110406030026 to display a empty folder pane..


yes, i get an error when starting in a non Classic view as well, though it's not nearly that severe. does it work for you in Classic layout? if so it's a regression, as layouts had been working.

a new version is coming shortly, with header editing.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 45402
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted April 7th, 2011, 3:53 pm

No. My normal configuration is classic view with a message pane.

alta88
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted April 7th, 2011, 5:31 pm

tanstaafl wrote:No. My normal configuration is classic view with a message pane.


i just noticed you have Tb Header Tools. give that a disable and retry, if you could. (its replacement is one of the main goals of TM).

otherwise i just upgraded to latest 0407 nightly and have no issues in Classic. if HT isn't the problem, please email me a copy of the console log.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 45402
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted April 7th, 2011, 7:15 pm

I disabled Tb Header Tools and gave it another try. Same symptoms.

The error console doesn't seem to support copying more than one entry at a time (I've tried Control-A, selecting one and then using shift key as select another etc.) and I can't find a text log file for it. Suggestions on how to get a copy that I can email you?

mad.engineer
 
Posts: 314
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 4:08 pm

Post Posted April 7th, 2011, 7:37 pm

There's an add-on called Console2 http://console2.mozdev.org/ --> viewtopic.php?f=7&t=563930&start=0 that may help you out.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 45402
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted April 7th, 2011, 8:35 pm

Thanks. That let me copy the console log. I'm still curious where the log data is stored though.

Return to Thunderbird Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest