MozillaZine

Extension "manually sort folders"

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Thunderbird
Tatie26
 
Posts: 14
Joined: April 16th, 2019, 9:35 am

Post Posted December 14th, 2019, 8:57 am

Hi
thanks a lot, sorry i haven't understood.

i will use the userchrome. :D :D :D

MANY THANKS :D :D

wsmwk
 
Posts: 2615
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 6:52 am

Post Posted December 14th, 2019, 10:28 am

FWIW, there has been somewhat steady activity at https://github.com/protz/Manually-Sort-Folders

veroandgi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 15th, 2019, 10:09 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2019, 10:18 am

Tatie26 wrote:Hi
thanks a lot, sorry i haven't understood.

i will use the userchrome. :D :D :D

MANY THANKS :D :D


I try to create userChrome.js with this:

/* Thunderbird userChrome.js */

if (location == "chrome://messenger/content/messenger.xul") {
setTimeout(function () {
SelectFolder("mailbox://Local Folders/Inbox");
}, 1000);
}


but not work, what I have wrong?

in this folder C:\Users\NAME\AppData\Roaming\Thunderbird\Profiles\xxxxxxxxxxxxx.default-release\chrome\ I have also a userChrome.css, can bother the other file?

Tatie26
 
Posts: 14
Joined: April 16th, 2019, 9:35 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2019, 11:39 am

:D Hi Morat

Thanks a lot for your help, that's very nice of you.

Best regards and have a good day. :)

morat
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2019, 11:47 am

You're welcome.

morat
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2019, 7:06 pm

@veroandgi

Here is how to show the selected folder url using the error console.

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=14851876#p14851876

Don't try to guess the folder url...

veroandgi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 15th, 2019, 10:09 am

Post Posted December 16th, 2019, 2:31 am

ok,
tools > developer tools > error console
I copy "alert(GetFirstSelectedMsgFolder().URI); // don't guess, test"

https://i.imgur.com/iJeIMXU.png

I receive this:
https://i.imgur.com/wRdMnug.png

I edit the userChrome.js:

/* Thunderbird userChrome.js */

if (location == "chrome://messenger/content/messenger.xul") {
setTimeout(function () {
SelectFolder("mailbox://nobody@Local%20Folders/Inbox");
}, 1000);
}


no change, everything stays the same

morat
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted December 16th, 2019, 8:29 am

@veroandgi

Did you install the userChromeJS addon?

userChromeJS by jikamens
http://addons.thunderbird.net/thunderbird/addon/986610

Does the following code work using the error console?

Code: Select all
SelectFolder("mailbox://nobody@Local%20Folders/Inbox");

i.e.

* manually select trash folder
* run code using error console to select inbox folder

There is a delay of 1000 milliseconds in the userChrome.js file.

Try increasing the delay. ( e.g. change 1000 to 3000 )

Try using the -purgecaches command line option.

i.e.

thunderbird.exe -purgecaches
ThunderbirdPortable.exe -purgecaches

More info
http://developer.mozilla.org/docs/Extensions/Updating_extensions_for_Firefox_4#Caching

veroandgi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 15th, 2019, 10:09 am

Post Posted December 18th, 2019, 1:17 am

yes, I installed the userChromeJS addon (of course).

in the error console I receive this:

https://i.vgy.me/jsiF4p.png

morat
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted December 18th, 2019, 5:09 am

@veroandgi

The image doesn't tell me if the inbox folder was selected or not.

If the code doesn't select the inbox folder using the error console, then the folder url isn't correct.

I get the stack-trace-collector.js error as well. Ignore it.

veroandgi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 15th, 2019, 10:09 am

Post Posted December 27th, 2019, 8:01 am

started to work
I don't even know why or how.

Return to Thunderbird General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest