MozillaZine

Cannot get nightlies to work on Win2k

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
gnaremooz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 13th, 2003, 8:10 pm

Post Posted April 13th, 2003, 8:39 pm

I've been using 0.5 on Win2k since last year, and it's easily the best browser on this platform.

Yesterday, I decided to get with the times and try some of the more recent builds. It looks like Mar 19/20 and Apr 9 were getting the most votes. So I downloaded them, plus the latest (Apr 11).

Strangely, I get the same behaviour from all 4 builds: A few seconds after they start, the CPU usage hits 100% and I have to kill the program. I never get any response from the UI, and the Mozilla start page never loads.

In between each attempt, I deleted the progam & user profile directories, and rebooted (old Windows habit).

So I went back to 0.5 and it works fine. After a quick search, I can't find anyone else with the same problem so it's probably just me.....

OS: Windows 2000 5.00.2195 SP3
HW: Athlon 1.4GHz 256MB GeForce2 MX-400

colfer

User avatar
 
Posts: 643
Joined: December 4th, 2002, 9:34 am
Location: Bear

Post Posted April 13th, 2003, 10:06 pm

Could it be a problem with the video driver? I had a weird one
http://www.mozillazine.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=55850
and updating the video driver fixed it.

nilson

User avatar
 
Posts: 4100
Joined: February 15th, 2003, 11:55 pm
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Post Posted April 13th, 2003, 10:32 pm

That really sucks. Like colfer said, I recommend upgrading your drivers.

g0ph3r

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 6:29 am

Post Posted April 13th, 2003, 10:47 pm

gnaremooz wrote:Strangely, I get the same behaviour from all 4 builds: A few seconds after they start, the CPU usage hits 100% and I have to kill the program. I never get any response from the UI, and the Mozilla start page never loads.

In between each attempt, I deleted the progam & user profile directories, and rebooted (old Windows habit).

So I went back to 0.5 and it works fine. After a quick search, I can't find anyone else with the same problem so it's probably just me.....


I have had the same problem w/ a Phoenix nightly of 2003-04-02 [Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.4a) Gecko/20030402 Phoenix/0.5].

I had created a new profile in order to not run into any problems when starting the new Phoenix first (I have had tried a very old version, I think 0.2 or so before) and Phoenix had exactly the same problem: 100% CPU time. I killed the process and tried again with the same results.

Then I tried using my old profile (from 0.2 days) and this worked well!

So perhaps there is some problem with newly created profiles? I don't know...

bye, daniel :-/
Daniel Bachran

Relativity_17
 
Posts: 420
Joined: March 19th, 2003, 12:47 am
Location: Sometime in 2008

Post Posted April 14th, 2003, 12:50 am

This happened to me running both machines;

Win98
400MHZ processor
64MB RAM
Some anonymous 8MB vid card I think.

WinXP
2.4GHZ
384MB RAM
32MB Mobility M6

Both times, it was on a fresh install. Both times, I gave it about 5 minutes to finish whatever it was doing. Both times, everything went skippy. Program was all but frozen for a few minutes, then everything worked 100%. Try giving it some time, maybe this has something to do with writing the profile to disk or something.

townba
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 28th, 2003, 11:18 am
Location: Novi, MI

Post Posted April 14th, 2003, 6:30 am

It could be because of bug 201381 ( http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=201381 ). If you have any IE favorites that are actually non-HTTP links to somewhere on your hard drive or your LAN/WAN, Mozilla and Phoenix recurse down through any subdirectories of those locations to create bookmarks. CPU usage hits 100% and the amount of time it takes depends on how many subdirectories there are.

To see whether or not this is the problem, open your Favorites folder (usually something like C:\Documents and Settings\username\Favorites) and move all the favorites out of that folder to somewhere else (this is just temporary). Then, create a new profile and start Phoenix. Phoenix should start right away (if this is your problem, of course). You can then move all your Favorites back into the Favorites folder.

colfer

User avatar
 
Posts: 643
Joined: December 4th, 2002, 9:34 am
Location: Bear

Post Posted April 14th, 2003, 7:36 pm

Ewww, bad bug. I voted for it. (Against it, that is.)

ob1jacoby
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 14th, 2003, 10:44 pm

Post Posted April 14th, 2003, 10:58 pm

I had a similar high cpu useage in Win 2k.
I finally went back to Windows default video drivers for NVidia.
Seems there are some issues with latest Detonator drivers.
Tried V40.72 and V41.09, have not tested V43.35
-OB1-

gnaremooz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 13th, 2003, 8:10 pm

Post Posted April 15th, 2003, 5:47 am

Wow - I wasn't expecting so many replies!

So it sounds like I should try:
* new video drivers
* old profile
* just leave it be for 5 minutes

Will report back if anything works....

gnaremooz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 13th, 2003, 8:10 pm

Post Posted April 15th, 2003, 6:05 am

We have a winner!

townba was exactly right - it was bug 201381.

In my IE Favourites, I had a shortcut to a filesystem folder with lots of subdirectories. As soon as I got rid of this, Apr 11 ran first time (and it looks so much cooler than 0.5 :-) )

Thanks to everyone - I'm really chuffed that it only took 5 minutes from clue to solution!

richwklein
 
Posts: 331
Joined: November 24th, 2002, 8:20 pm
Location: Iowa

Post Posted April 15th, 2003, 6:33 am

I have a similar issue with recent nightlies. I have an iFeel mouse and it turns out the program IDesktop.exe was causing phoenix to crash just seconds after opening it.

ckjnigel
 
Posts: 285
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 12:37 am

Post Posted April 15th, 2003, 8:08 am

Ah ha! I have a Logitech iFeel mouse with Immersion desktop and have had just that prob since end March... I'll try a Phyrebyrd build with Immersion desktop killed.
But, does anybody know of a patch from Immersion? I installed a new Logitech Mouseware 9.76 last night, but suspect that isn't involved ...
BTW, I do so wish Moz projects supported feelyvision cuz the tactile feedback helps so much. Did anybody ever approach Immersion about getting them to help?

colfer

User avatar
 
Posts: 643
Joined: December 4th, 2002, 9:34 am
Location: Bear

Post Posted April 16th, 2003, 6:14 am

I don't think this iFeel/Immersion Desktop bug has been reported. See http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=131465 (Comment #16)

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests