MozillaZine


Global find bar?

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Caspid

User avatar
 
Posts: 582
Joined: December 18th, 2005, 4:01 pm

Post Posted July 2nd, 2021, 7:51 am

When I Ctrl+F something in one tab, switch to another, and hit F3, I expect it to search for the same entry (the old findbar behavior). Is there an add-on that replicates this?
"Know what I pray for? The strength to change what I can, the inability to accept what I can't, and the incapacity to tell the difference." -Calvin

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125510
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 2nd, 2021, 8:12 am

Moving to Firefox Builds as version 91.0 is not a release version.

bjherbison
 
Posts: 996
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted July 3rd, 2021, 3:04 am

DanRaisch wrote:Moving to Firefox Builds as version 91.0 is not a release version.

This doesn't belong in Firefox Builds as the described issue has been in Release for over a year.

Snake4
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted July 3rd, 2021, 3:48 am

bjherbison wrote:
DanRaisch wrote:Moving to Firefox Builds as version 91.0 is not a release version.

This doesn't belong in Firefox Builds as the described issue has been in Release for over a year.

butr he's still using 91 which isnt released, so Dan is right to leave it here

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 5247
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted July 3rd, 2021, 6:01 am

Caspid wrote:When I Ctrl+F something in one tab, switch to another, and hit F3, I expect it to search for the same entry (the old findbar behavior). Is there an add-on that replicates this?



No extension needed WFM

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20903
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 5th, 2021, 10:11 am

I thought FF did away with that expected/useful feature - but maybe not.

Now, I'm thinking that how you implement your search will determine if it works or not?

Something like...

(open 3 pages in tabs)
Ctrl+F -> 'the'
(leave Findbar open)
jump to second tab, F3 [works]
jump to third tab, F3 [works]

Quit & restart...

(open 3 pages in tabs)
Ctrl+F -> 'the'
-> hit F3 & advance through a few 'the's.
(close the Findbar)
jump to second tab, F3 [fails]
jump to third tab, F3 [fails]


(Don't hold me to the above, cause implementation, instead of "just working as expected", is simply too confusing, illogical.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 5247
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted July 5th, 2021, 1:01 pm

therube wrote:I thought FF did away with that expected/useful feature - but maybe not.

Now, I'm thinking that how you implement your search will determine if it works or not?

Something like...

(open 3 pages in tabs)
Ctrl+F -> 'the'
(leave Findbar open)
jump to second tab, F3 [works]
jump to third tab, F3 [works]

Quit & restart...

(open 3 pages in tabs)
Ctrl+F -> 'the'
-> hit F3 & advance through a few 'the's.
(close the Findbar)
jump to second tab, F3 [fails]
jump to third tab, F3 [fails]


(Don't hold me to the above, cause implementation, instead of "just working as expected", is simply too confusing, illogical.)



I just re-tested and yes, seems to be the key that you have to leave the 'find bar' open for the multi-tab search to work.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest