MozillaZine

Laptop has 16 GB of ram, how many content processes

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 61
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 7th, 2017, 1:26 am

Hey guys,

My Mac pro laptop has 16 GB of Ram, and I have Nightly set to five content processes, can it handle more then that and if so, how many would you recommend?
Last edited by tomatoshadow2 on July 16th, 2017, 2:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37306
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 7th, 2017, 6:24 am

Moving to Firefox Builds...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Virtual_ManPL

User avatar
 
Posts: 1805
Joined: July 24th, 2008, 5:52 am

Post Posted July 7th, 2017, 9:00 am

What CPU?
Virtualfox persona

Are you ready for deprecation of XUL & XBL & XPCOM extensions? Not?! Try Firefox ESR

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 61
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 7th, 2017, 3:21 pm

2.2 GHz Intel Core i7

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 172
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted July 7th, 2017, 9:02 pm

tomatoshadow2 wrote:2.2 GHz Intel Core i7

That doesn't really help... But I'm assuming it's a dual core so I'd say 5 processes sounds about right. You wont be limited by ram but by threads on your CPU and possibly your iGPU.

mayankleoboy1
 
Posts: 370
Joined: February 25th, 2013, 9:52 pm

Post Posted July 7th, 2017, 9:13 pm

I have 8GB RAM and a 2 core+2Hyperthreaded processor.
I use 20 processes and it all works fine.

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 172
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted July 7th, 2017, 10:43 pm

mayankleoboy1 wrote:I have 8GB RAM and a 2 core+2Hyperthreaded processor.
I use 20 processes and it all works fine.


Working fine is different to working optimally. Having more will make tabs more stable if you have many open (as it won't crash a whole heap of tabs sharing the same process) but there is a performance impact of having too many than your computer can handle.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11318
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 4:49 am

@tomatoshadow2 - Your processor specs
4 core - 8 threads i7 Sandy Bridge

sciguyryan
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 1:33 pm
Location: Wales

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 6:00 am

Are You A Wiiizard? wrote:
mayankleoboy1 wrote:I have 8GB RAM and a 2 core+2Hyperthreaded processor.
I use 20 processes and it all works fine.


Working fine is different to working optimally. Having more will make tabs more stable if you have many open (as it won't crash a whole heap of tabs sharing the same process) but there is a performance impact of having too many than your computer can handle.


Agreed. That's one issue that Chrome has for example. The multi-process model is sub-optimal and it is less efficient over all. Even if it is nice to have it such that a single tab can't crash more than one at any given time!
Visit My Blog if you want to hear more.

Ryan Jones

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 61
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 6:23 am

Thanks Grumpus greatly appreciate it!! and thanks for the input everyone, so five content processes seems like it's just right. Also, Are you a wizard? can you explain more about limitations I may face? Thanks so much.

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 172
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 8:02 am

tomatoshadow2 wrote:Thanks Grumpus greatly appreciate it!! and thanks for the input everyone, so five content processes seems like it's just right. Also, Are you a wizard? can you explain more about limitations I may face? Thanks so much.


Well, if your CPU is indeed the i7-2720QM then it should be capable of more, likely 8 processes (though might still be held back by iGPU). While it is much older, almost all current-gen laptops use dual-cores. For example: http://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/In ... 1274vsm532 where the multi-thread performance is 21% higher on the 2720QM.

About limitations, I used to run 10 content processes on my AMD FX8320 (8 cores, 8 threads) with my HD7970 and I noticed no performance issues even with many heavy sites open (after they fixed the spinner issues). A couple of weeks ago my 7970 stopped working and I put in my really old 5750. Almost instantly I noticed when I had many fairly heavy tabs open that performance was suffering and was almost eliminated by dropping down to 8 processes but I still get a few issues with slow rendering etc. due to the slow GPU. I keep it at 8 because I'd rather suffer a little bit of performance to decrease the chance of an important tab crashing due to another tab having issues.

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 61
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 10:20 am

Yeah my Macbook pro is late 2015, is it restricted by iGPU?

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 172
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 12:45 pm

tomatoshadow2 wrote:Yeah my Macbook pro is late 2015, is it restricted by iGPU?


Honestly I'm not sure. It depends how you use the browser I guess. You could try experimenting yourself, if you notice any slowdowns reduce it. Even if you assign too many it's not going to slow your browser to a crawl unless you do something like 50+.

Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1508
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted July 9th, 2017, 2:10 pm

Are You A Wiiizard? wrote:
tomatoshadow2 wrote:Thanks Grumpus greatly appreciate it!! and thanks for the input everyone, so five content processes seems like it's just right. Also, Are you a wizard? can you explain more about limitations I may face? Thanks so much.


Well, if your CPU is indeed the i7-2720QM then it should be capable of more, likely 8 processes (though might still be held back by iGPU). While it is much older, almost all current-gen laptops use dual-cores. For example: http://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/In ... 1274vsm532 where the multi-thread performance is 21% higher on the 2720QM.

About limitations, I used to run 10 content processes on my AMD FX8320 (8 cores, 8 threads) with my HD7970 and I noticed no performance issues even with many heavy sites open (after they fixed the spinner issues). A couple of weeks ago my 7970 stopped working and I put in my really old 5750. Almost instantly I noticed when I had many fairly heavy tabs open that performance was suffering and was almost eliminated by dropping down to 8 processes but I still get a few issues with slow rendering etc. due to the slow GPU. I keep it at 8 because I'd rather suffer a little bit of performance to decrease the chance of an important tab crashing due to another tab having issues.


>due to the slow GPU

You should see how much VRAM the content processes use, they really need to tune this aspect
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Windows 10/Ubuntu
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10 x86
Mobile:Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Pro

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 61
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 11th, 2017, 5:17 am

Alright, can I check that in activity monitor or is there another place to check it?

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests