MozillaZine

Laptop has 16 GB of ram, how many content processes

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1535
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted July 12th, 2017, 3:14 pm

tomatoshadow2 wrote:Alright, can I check that in activity monitor or is there another place to check it?


Use GPUz:

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Windows 10/Ubuntu
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10 x86
Mobile:Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Pro

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 94
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 13th, 2017, 6:50 pm

Thanks,have you yourself used it?

Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1535
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted July 13th, 2017, 10:11 pm

tomatoshadow2 wrote:Thanks,have you yourself used it?


Yes I use it to monitor VRAM usage :)
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Windows 10/Ubuntu
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10 x86
Mobile:Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Pro

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 94
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 14th, 2017, 11:17 pm

Grantius wrote:
tomatoshadow2 wrote:Thanks,have you yourself used it?


Yes I use it to monitor VRAM usage :)
Sounds good,thanks a lot!

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2748
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted July 15th, 2017, 7:48 am

limiting processes for firefox is not wise - let firefox handle it if you wont experience trouble.

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 94
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 15th, 2017, 8:28 am

I have it set to eight content processes and I've been fine so far as I can tell or do you mean something else about limiting the content processes?

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2748
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted July 15th, 2017, 10:27 am

firefox is putting up to 4 tabs on each process - more tabs > more processes. less process = more tabs/process -> process crash -> more tabs lost. similar for addons.
thats different to chrome(ium) - each tab = single process, cant crash another tab. ofc means more memory usage - but who cares with 16gig. with 2gig may concern, but not with more.

thats what i always write - dont screw on things you dont understand at all. above is my last knowledge point.

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 94
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 15th, 2017, 10:33 am

Thanks a lot, appreciate your input.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests