MozillaZine

[WARNING] Nightly might break some add-ons

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted November 25th, 2015, 10:51 am

Anyone following all the chatter in the bug ? Looks like Bug 1182546 will be backed out later today until a 'better fix' for the problem and security can be worked out.

From the talk, it appears that adding the 'workaround' of contentaccessible=yes may create a data/security leak. I think they are talking about the security leak where the addon will allow a 'fingerprinting' leak in that you can be tracked from the addon leaking 'data'.

I'm wondering if perhaps the advise of modifying the addon to add the 'workaround' should be put on HOLD, until which time they back the patch that started this mess. I'm also thinking that those that modified their addon to 'work' should perhaps backout the workaround once the offending patch is backed out.

WildcatRay

User avatar
 
Posts: 7369
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 7:03 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Post Posted November 25th, 2015, 12:20 pm

TheVisitor wrote:Anyone following all the chatter in the bug ? Looks like Bug 1182546 will be backed out later today until a 'better fix' for the problem and security can be worked out.

From the talk, it appears that adding the 'workaround' of contentaccessible=yes may create a data/security leak. I think they are talking about the security leak where the addon will allow a 'fingerprinting' leak in that you can be tracked from the addon leaking 'data'.

I'm wondering if perhaps the advise of modifying the addon to add the 'workaround' should be put on HOLD, until which time they back the patch that started this mess. I'm also thinking that those that modified their addon to 'work' should perhaps backout the workaround once the offending patch is backed out.

:roll: #-o ](*,) :-"
Ray

OS'es: 4 computers with Win10 (1703) Pro 64-bit; Current Firefox, Beta, Nightly

Nehemoth
 
Posts: 57
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 1:31 pm
Location: Valhalla

Post Posted December 1st, 2015, 8:08 am

Any update?

Haven't installed new build since like a week ago

:(
When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you will always long to return.

— Leonardo da Vinci

mancode20
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 8th, 2015, 2:30 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2016, 10:44 am

Latest nightly disabled all of my add-ons. Anyway to fix this?

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10376
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2016, 11:06 am

mancode20 wrote:Latest nightly disabled all of my add-ons. Anyway to fix this?

Nope... but you could install yesterdays build or wait for a respin
"Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please."
~ Mark Twain

FloridaMatt
 
Posts: 42
Joined: November 8th, 2011, 8:31 am
Location: Winter Haven, Fl

Post Posted January 7th, 2016, 12:20 pm

Speed Dial [FVD] seems to be broken in the latest nightly.

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 2895
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2016, 12:50 pm

@mancode20
Add-ons that restore the version number are broken by latest Nightly. If you are using one of them, disable them (restore an older Nightly build first). If you are using CTR, you still can access options window and disable the version number option.

mancode20
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 8th, 2015, 2:30 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2016, 4:07 pm

I disabled the add-on, Add-On Manager Version Number 1.0.7, but the problem is still there. I have updated to the latest Nightly thinking that maybe it would be fixed, but no such luck yet. Will this be fixed in an upcoming update? How do I get my add-ons back? I probably wouldn't even use Nightly anymore, if I could get E10s to work in Beta, which I have also been unable to do. I set browser.tabs.remote.force-enable to true, but it's still not working. What else do I have to set?

Virtual_ManPL

User avatar
 
Posts: 1783
Joined: July 24th, 2008, 5:52 am

Post Posted January 9th, 2016, 3:44 am

@ mancode20 - Extensions devs need to fix it on their side. Use stable or ESR build.
Nightly is a pre-alpha build, where things can break.
Virtualfox persona

Are you ready for deprecation of XUL & XBL & XPCOM extensions? Not?! Try Firefox ESR

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 2895
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted January 9th, 2016, 3:52 am

@mancode20
I can not confirm your issue. CTR 1.4.6 version number option and "Add-ons Manager - Version Number" 1.0.7 work fine with latest Nighty builds. Make sure you test on a new browser profile to verify. Maybe another add-on interferes on your system.

Image

mancode20
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 8th, 2015, 2:30 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2016, 12:59 am

Turns out that's not the issue. The issue is that user styles are gone. I have Stylish installed, but my custom user styles are gone and the ability to even change user styles doesn't exist anymore. Have they removed them permanently?

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 2895
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2016, 4:27 am

Stylish is broken in Nightly. Use Firefox release, beta or developer edition, if you need Stylish.

mancode20
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 8th, 2015, 2:30 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2016, 5:03 am

Will Stylish be fixed in Nightly? I hope so!

avada
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted January 10th, 2016, 5:32 am

Aris wrote:Stylish is broken in Nightly. Use Firefox release, beta or developer edition, if you need Stylish.

What change caused the breakage this time? (Other addons might be affected)

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2016, 6:23 am

avada wrote:
Aris wrote:Stylish is broken in Nightly. Use Firefox release, beta or developer edition, if you need Stylish.

What change caused the breakage this time? (Other addons might be affected)



Yes, others are affected it would seem from reading https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1220564 <- bug that broke Stylish

Please, NO comments in bug. Appears there is a work-around, but I have no idea what to do with the code that was posted on the AMO page - comments area.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest