MozillaZine

[WARNING] Nightly might break some add-ons

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Romani
 
Posts: 76
Joined: September 4th, 2009, 8:01 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2016, 9:40 am

avada wrote:@lithopsian

Thanks. Though it looks like it wasn't broken by this. I did a regression test and it popped up Bug 1317947 - Upgrade Firefox 53 to NSS 3.29.

Ehh... They're breaking addons left and right in the past two weeks.


Considering they plan to drop "legacy" addons in FF57 (and nightly is FF53 right now) they may think "ah, screw that, why fix it if we going to trash it?".

avada
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted December 3rd, 2016, 10:57 am

Romani wrote:
avada wrote:@lithopsian

Thanks. Though it looks like it wasn't broken by this. I did a regression test and it popped up Bug 1317947 - Upgrade Firefox 53 to NSS 3.29.

Ehh... They're breaking addons left and right in the past two weeks.


Considering they plan to drop "legacy" addons in FF57 (and nightly is FF53 right now) they may think "ah, screw that, why fix it if we going to trash it?".

That's still a year from now. Also why not make one that works with the final version of XUL supporting firefox.

mdew

User avatar
 
Posts: 318
Joined: March 2nd, 2005, 2:34 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2016, 4:40 pm

For those who use squintplus addon; Just a quick fix.

https://secure.fanboy.co.nz/squint-plus-nightlyfix.xpi

avada
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted December 18th, 2016, 10:42 am

lithopsian wrote:A loop of "for each (let button in aButtons)" can be replaced by something like this:
Code: Select all
for (let property in aButtons)
{
    let button = buttons[property];
    ...


Slightly more clunky but equivalent and robust.

Depending on the exact situation, you may be able to just replace the for each ... in with for ... of. The for ... of construct also iterates over the values of the properties of aButtons, but it only works for certain types of object so you can't always just drop it in.


avada wrote:Thanks. Though it looks like it wasn't broken by this. I did a regression test and it popped up Bug 1317947 - Upgrade Firefox 53 to NSS 3.29.


Gah... As it turns out for each was the problem after all. It just eluded me that it's used twice... :facepalm: (I'm such a loser...)
Anyway thanks for the fix!

A lesson of this is to NEVER use mozregression. It's garbage. It pointed to two different irrelevant bugs at different times.

lithopsian
 
Posts: 3635
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 9:03 am

Post Posted December 21st, 2016, 1:34 pm

I found this page which has been created recently and seems to cover most of the variations on a theme and how to fix them ...
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... deprecated

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests