MozillaZine

User Agent Extension 0.1 Released

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
chrispederick

User avatar
 
Posts: 243
Joined: February 6th, 2003, 1:45 pm

Post Posted February 23rd, 2003, 11:08 pm

User Agent Switcher 0.1 has been released - download it here:

<a href="http://chrispederick.myacen.com/work/phoenix/useragentswitcher/">http://chrispederick.myacen.com/work/phoenix/useragentswitcher/</a>

This extension adds a menu to switch the user agent of the browser. It is designed to provide functionality similar to the "Browser Identification" feature of Opera.

This is my first extension so let me know if you see any problems or if there are other features you would like to see.

Let me know what you think...

Cheers,
Chris

alanjstr
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here

Post Posted February 24th, 2003, 10:12 pm

Not meaning to rain on your parade, but there are several out there already.
<a href="http://texturizer.net/phoenix/extensions.html#User%20Agent%20Toolbar%20%28uabar%29">User Agent Toolbar</a>
<a href="http://texturizer.net/phoenix/extensions.html#QuickPrefs">QuickPrefs</a>
<a href="http://texturizer.net/phoenix/extensions.html#Preferences%20Toolbar">Preferences Toolbar</a>
Former UMO Admin, Former MozillaZine General Mod
I am rarely on mozillaZine, so please do not send me a private message.
My Old Firefox config files

lynchknot
 
Posts: 6253
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 7:36 pm

Post Posted February 24th, 2003, 11:09 pm

Thanks chrispederick, It's nice to have the option on the text menu drop down instead of adding another toolbar or toolbar icon. I would like to add more options such as Googlebot to the menu but have noticed that the UA strings you use differs from what I have seen. Any advice?

old Neil Parks
Moderator
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted February 24th, 2003, 11:23 pm

chrispederick wrote:User Agent Switcher 0.1 has been released - download it here:

<a href="http://chrispederick.myacen.com/work/phoenix/useragentswitcher/">http://chrispederick.myacen.com/work/phoenix/useragentswitcher/</a>

Let me know what you think...

Cheers,
Chris


I like it! It's quick and easy to use.

fingerprint

User avatar
 
Posts: 379
Joined: January 27th, 2003, 7:08 pm

Post Posted February 25th, 2003, 2:23 am

Thank you, I love that I don't have to add anything to my toolbar with yours...great job :)

chrispederick

User avatar
 
Posts: 243
Joined: February 6th, 2003, 1:45 pm

Post Posted February 25th, 2003, 1:51 pm

Thanks guys...I wanted to make it simple like the Opera functionality and not take up a chunk of space on the toolbar.

Lynch - what I have tried to do is use regular expressions rather than just replace the whole string so that a user's platform stays the same. With the User Agent Toolbar for example, you have to choose something like "Internet Explorer 6 - Windows XP" - with this extension it should change the browser signature, but still use whatever platform you are on.

If you have an example of the Googlebot user agent string I can see if I can work it in for the next release along with some others.

Cheers,
Chris

RAF
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 12606
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:19 pm
Location: .nl

Post Posted February 25th, 2003, 2:07 pm

@chrispederick

Thank you very much..!

Zaphod

User avatar
 
Posts: 175
Joined: November 22nd, 2002, 12:07 am
Location: Munich, DE\Europe

Post Posted February 25th, 2003, 4:04 pm

Well done.
I realy like this extension! :-)
http://www.gaehn.org | simply gaehn.org

Visceral
 
Posts: 108
Joined: December 3rd, 2002, 2:00 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Post Posted February 25th, 2003, 5:11 pm

Excellent, this EXACTLY what I wanted. There are others out there but this one is minimal and perfect for me.

Chris Cook

User avatar
 
Posts: 898
Joined: December 14th, 2002, 9:57 am
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted February 25th, 2003, 11:34 pm

chrispederick wrote:User Agent Switcher 0.1 has been released - download it here:

<a href="http://chrispederick.myacen.com/work/phoenix/useragentswitcher/">http://chrispederick.myacen.com/work/phoenix/useragentswitcher/</a>

This extension adds a menu to switch the user agent of the browser. It is designed to provide functionality similar to the "Browser Identification" feature of Opera.

This is my first extension so let me know if you see any problems or if there are other features you would like to see.

Let me know what you think...

Cheers,
Chris

Just a reminder to everyone to be proud of your user-agent and don't use fake user-agent strings unless its absolutely necessary. Statistics stack against non IE browsers when all user-agents claim to be IE.

lynchknot
 
Posts: 6253
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 7:36 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2003, 12:54 am

Chris, this is what I have in quickprefs:

<RDF:Seq about="nc:useragent-data">
<RDF:li>Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.2) Gecko/20021205</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.2) Gecko/20021205</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.2) Gecko/20021205</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.2) Gecko/20021205 Netscape/7.0</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.0.1) Gecko/20020823 Netscape/7.0</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.0) Gecko/20011022 Netscape6/6.2</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows 98 )</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.0; Mac_PowerPC)</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/4.78 [en] (Win98; U)</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/4.78 (Macintosh; U; PPC)</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/4.78 (Safari; U; PPC)</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Mozilla/4.78 [en] (X11; U; Linux 2.2.19 i686)</RDF:li>
<RDF:li>Googlebot/1.0 (googlebot@googlebot.com http://googlebot.com/)</RDF:li>
</RDF:Seq>


Image

chrispederick

User avatar
 
Posts: 243
Joined: February 6th, 2003, 1:45 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2003, 11:30 am

Thanks Lynch - I'll work on getting some of this stuff into the next release.

Cheers,
Chris

scragz

User avatar
 
Posts: 2914
Joined: February 8th, 2003, 2:38 am
Location: San Diego, US

Post Posted February 27th, 2003, 10:14 am

It would be nice to have an option to add and remove useragents yourself.

chrispederick

User avatar
 
Posts: 243
Joined: February 6th, 2003, 1:45 pm

Post Posted February 27th, 2003, 10:23 am

The problem is that this extension is designed to be small and simple. All of the user agent strings are just listed as menu items in the XUL and it would require a whole new interface to allow editing.

I'll have a think about it and see what I can come up with, but in the theme of keeping this extension simple it may not be possible...

Gort

User avatar
 
Posts: 2342
Joined: February 2nd, 2003, 6:01 pm
Location: Sussex, UK

Post Posted February 28th, 2003, 4:27 pm

Although agreeing with Chris Cook's caveat, I really like this extension for its simplicity. Good work. :)

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests