MozillaZine

Compact Menu [2003 02 04]

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
cdn

User avatar
 
Posts: 999
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted February 4th, 2003, 5:17 am

http://downloads.mozdev.org/cdn/compact ... 030204.xpi [1300 GMT]

good news :

Fixes :
<img alt="A problem with the menus and Compact Menu" height="39" src="http://netsabes.free.fr/trucs/compactbug.png" width="306" />

localisation :

de-DE : two legged freak
fr-FR : Netsabes
it-IT : XF
nl-NL : RAF
sv-SE : djst

discontinued : old-style pref panel

(new style one replicates the options under 'Toolbar Customization' as did this version)

Since the toolbar customisation is stuffed, customisation of Compact Menu would be best done via 'Options'
[Alt-O if you have recent Trivial : http://downloads.mozdev.org/cdn/trivial ... 030202.xpi]

-=-=-=-=-=-

bad news : I'm still tracking the 'Ctrl-N' bug

seb

User avatar
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 11:26 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post Posted February 4th, 2003, 6:28 am

Thx for fixing the border bug. But now, I've another one. Here's how the settings panel looks like:
<img src="http://netsabes.free.fr/trucs/compact-settings.png" alt="" />

The window is ... erm, a bit small perhaps? :)
I'm using Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.3b) Gecko/20030202 Phoenix/0.5

cdn

User avatar
 
Posts: 999
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted February 4th, 2003, 7:30 am

that looks like it's down to the contents.rdf from the old copy

it's looking for a xul file that is no longer in the archive

deleting (or renaming) phoenix/chrome/chrome.rdf should help

I'll have to look at the uninstall stuff

mind you Compact Menu is alpha/beta, glitch(e)s are to be expected

[[ I thought I had tracked the 'Ctrl-N' error to something in localstore.rdf, but I obviously didn't : ( ]]

cdn

User avatar
 
Posts: 999
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted February 4th, 2003, 8:43 am

new version in 15 minutes, which reverts to the Ben Goodger Prefs entry from 20030201 version of compact

phoenix/chrome/chrome.rdf should reference

settingsURL="chrome://compact/content/compactPrefOverlay.xul"

if it has 'BG' in remove it for the new version

ant1832

User avatar
 
Posts: 98
Joined: February 5th, 2003, 10:08 am

Post Posted February 5th, 2003, 10:11 am

I have a problem. I used the extention to hide the toolbar and now only have the back and forward buttons along w/ bookmarks and the address field. Now how when I right click I no longer get the customize option. Any ideas how to get into customize another way so I can add the menu button?

cdn

User avatar
 
Posts: 999
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted February 5th, 2003, 12:02 pm

ant1832 wrote:I have a problem. I used the extention to hide the toolbar and now only have the back and forward buttons along w/ bookmarks and the address field. Now how when I right click I no longer get the customize option. Any ideas how to get into customize another way so I can add the menu button?


screenshot, Px version, Compact Menu version, OS etc would help diagnosis : )

DOACleric
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 5th, 2003, 7:08 pm

Post Posted February 5th, 2003, 9:35 pm

I think i've found a bug in compact menu, but i'm not 100% sure. Basically, this is my story

I'm using a new theme for Phoenix, and i want to get rid of the menu items and only have the forward, backward, and URL bar be shown. So compact menu seemed like the perfect thing instead of forcing phoenix to hide them.

So I install it, set it up, and it works great. Until I open another instance of the browser. The 2nd window (and all others past that) refuse to save my button placement. The first one always saves it, but all others dont, even if i set it up manually in the 2nd one. At first I thought this was a bug in Phoenix. But then I go and disable the extension, and my button placement now saves in all instances of the browser. I've tried a few different builds of Phoenix, and they all seem to do the same thing. So my only guess is that its the extension causing this problem.

I'm running Winxp
Phoenix build 01/29/03 (but i tried a few other more recent builds, they all have this problem)
I also tried 2 versions of compact menu (latest one, and another one back from January, i forget the exact date), and both have this problem. I can provide screenshots if you have trouble understanding the problem.

cdn

User avatar
 
Posts: 999
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted February 6th, 2003, 1:41 am


DOACleric
 
Posts: 26
Joined: February 5th, 2003, 7:08 pm

Post Posted February 6th, 2003, 9:09 am

Ahh ok. So is there a way around it? Or do I just have to wait until its fixed in some newer version of Phoenix?

bdeonline
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 5:19 am
Location: OK, USA

Post Posted February 6th, 2003, 9:21 am

I ran into a simular problem I put on compact menu and moved all of my navigation onto the menu bar that stops the right click and configure from working. Then I was taking everything off of the compact menu and didn't have a menu or anyway to put it back.

So I went to my profile and I beleive I deleted localstore.rdf (I am not sure, but pretty sure that is where the data is kept to store where the buttons are positioned on the browser). By deleting that it will be put back by Phoenix the next time you start it and have the default layout with the menu.

ant1832

User avatar
 
Posts: 98
Joined: February 5th, 2003, 10:08 am

Post Posted February 6th, 2003, 12:27 pm

Thanks bdeonline that worked great:)

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests