MozillaZine

A couple of things re: TBE and Quickprefs

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
sjrowland
 
Posts: 38
Joined: January 10th, 2003, 4:54 am

Post Posted January 29th, 2003, 4:25 am

Tab Browser Extensions
----------------------------

I have "Ticked" Show scrollbar in the tabbar when tabs are overflowed.
I have changed "Width of Tabs:" to "Fix" keeping the default pixel size (250).

When I open lots of tabs they just disappear of the right side of the screen and the only way to see them is to delete the visible tabs until they come back from the right.

Therefore the only way I can open a lot of tabs and get to them all is by setting "Width of Tabs:" to "fit to window" but then the tabs become progressivly smaller and smaller so that you can't tell what tab is what.

Quick Prefs
-------------

I've tried to set up "HTTP User Agent" spoofing. I've cut the info. from the page suggested by Quickprefs and:

1) Pasted it to the end of the localstore.rdf, before the </RDF:RDF>

or

2) Pasted it into localstore.rdf after <RDF:Seq about="nc:useragent-data">

In both case when I used Quickprefs to spoof a UserAgent I could see all the spoofs I put in and use them. However the "Select default UserAgent Identifier" was grayed out and I couldn't select it to go back.

Also when I closed PX and reloaded I got an error about the MS Java machine couldn't be used with this browser or something to that effect.

My Config
------------

O/S
-----
Windows 2000 (Work) and WinXP (Home)

PX
---
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.3a) Gecko/20030127 Phoenix/0.5

Extensions
------------
digger v0.3.0
Mouse Rocker Navigation
QuickPrefs v1.0
Text Links
Compact Menu
Tabbrowser Extensions

alanjstr
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here

Post Posted January 29th, 2003, 7:54 am

Piro, who makes TBE, doesn't read these forums.
http://white.sakura.ne.jp/~piro/xul/_ta ... ns.en.html
Former UMO Admin, Former MozillaZine General Mod
I am rarely on mozillaZine, so please do not send me a private message.
My Old Firefox config files

Selim Bouchtayeb
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 27th, 2003, 7:05 am

Post Posted January 29th, 2003, 9:38 am

sjrowland wrote:Quick Prefs
-------------

I've tried to set up "HTTP User Agent" spoofing. I've cut the info. from the page suggested by Quickprefs and:

1) Pasted it to the end of the localstore.rdf, before the </RDF:RDF>

or

2) Pasted it into localstore.rdf after <RDF:Seq about="nc:useragent-data">

In both case when I used Quickprefs to spoof a UserAgent I could see all the spoofs I put in and use them. However the "Select default UserAgent Identifier" was grayed out and I couldn't select it to go back.


Close PX. Cut and paste your localstore.rdf elsewhere. Reload PX and close it again. Then cut and paste the following before the </RDF:RDF> in the new localstore.rdf (Don't use Notepad to edit localstore.rdf):

<RDF:Seq about="nc:useragent-data">
<RDF:li>Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98)</RDF:li>
</RDF:Seq>

Does it work now ?

If not how about adding your default UserAgent Identifier in the spoofs ?


Also when I closed PX and reloaded I got an error about the MS Java machine couldn't be used with this browser or something to that effect.


That's because PX says it is IE.


Regards.

alanjstr
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here

Post Posted January 29th, 2003, 9:45 am

sjrowland wrote:Also when I closed PX and reloaded I got an error about the MS Java machine couldn't be used with this browser or something to that effect.

Not quite what it says. The Sun plugin for IE is different than that for any other web browser. This is a known bug between Mozilla and the Sun JRE. Instead of the JRE asking the browser for its real identifier, it just grabs the user-agent. Like I said, a known bug. So either disable Java, or change your user agent back, until they fix that.

http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=83376
Former UMO Admin, Former MozillaZine General Mod
I am rarely on mozillaZine, so please do not send me a private message.
My Old Firefox config files

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest