MozillaZine

Tabbed browser extension bug with middle-click

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
joha

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 1:04 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Post Posted December 11th, 2002, 11:58 am

Middle-click on empty space opens a new tab with the clipboard content as the location.
Can anyone else reproduce?
I'm using Phoenix 0.5 on linux rh 7.3 with KDE.
I don't think that this happens on Win2000, but I'll check tomorrow.
I'll list my prefs later Now I gotta go ;).
joha

laszlo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de

Post Posted December 11th, 2002, 12:08 pm

This isn't a bug with TBE, it's a feature of Moz/Phoenix on Unix.

joha

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 1:04 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Post Posted December 11th, 2002, 12:52 pm

Funny that I haven't noticed before, though I've been using mozilla since M15.
Can this feature can be turned off?
joha

laszlo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de

Post Posted December 11th, 2002, 12:59 pm

joha wrote:Funny that I haven't noticed before, though I've been using mozilla since M15.
Can this feature can be turned off?

Don't know, because it's there since a long time (IIRC Netscape 4.x also had this). I also don't know if it can be turned off, and re-reading your first post there might indeed be some strange interaction with TBE, because the feature's intended to open the URL in the clipboard in the same window/tab.

joha

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 1:04 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Post Posted December 11th, 2002, 1:23 pm

laszlo wrote: I also don't know if it can be turned off, and re-reading your first post there might indeed be some strange interaction with TBE, because the feature's intended to open the URL in the clipboard in the same window/tab.

No there isn't, I misreported, it opens in the same tab.

btw, I tried with 4.79, but the feature wasn't there.
joha

laszlo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de

Post Posted December 11th, 2002, 1:29 pm

This might be the pref, though I'm not sure and I can't test it right now:

user_pref("middlemouse.contentLoadURL", false);

joha

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 1:04 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Post Posted December 11th, 2002, 1:51 pm

thanks, works like magic ;)
joha

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests