MozillaZine

Configuration of Mouse Gestures on 0.5

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
ssstraub
 
Posts: 109
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 4:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post Posted December 7th, 2002, 7:08 pm

Update: It works fine. I had to reinstall the mouse gestures right over the top and it worked correctly this time. No idea what went wrong the first time.

=======================
So, we all know the hack to get the right-mouse button to do the work in previous versions (0.3-0.4) of phoenix, since the Mouse Gesture extension author hasn't updated the code.

It was to go into your profile directory and edit prefs.js and change
user_pref("mozgest.mousebutton", 0);

where the 0 is the left button, 1 the middle and 2 is the right one.

As of 0.5 there IS no entry called user_pref("mozgest.mousebutton",0); to change! So where do I go to change the 0 to a 2?
Last edited by ssstraub on December 7th, 2002, 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Zaphod

User avatar
 
Posts: 175
Joined: November 22nd, 2002, 12:07 am
Location: Munich, DE\Europe

Post Posted December 7th, 2002, 7:16 pm

Are you sure? I have this entry in my prefs.js.
These entries are made by Mouse Gestures:

user_pref("mozgest.delay", 500);
user_pref("mozgest.grid", 15);
user_pref("mozgest.modifier.alt", false);
user_pref("mozgest.modifier.ctrl", false);
user_pref("mozgest.modifier.shift", false);
user_pref("mozgest.mousebutton", 2);
user_pref("mozgest.navigator", true);

Did you have no one of these? Maybe you have to reinstall Mouse Gestures.

legoxx
 
Posts: 11
Joined: December 4th, 2002, 12:10 am

Post Posted December 7th, 2002, 9:03 pm

http://www.mozilla.org/projects/phoenix/extensions/

use this version, version on optimoz page doesn't work for some reason...

priior

User avatar
 
Posts: 374
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 3:45 pm
Location: montreal

Post Posted December 7th, 2002, 9:05 pm

ssstraub: did u try creating one? cuz mine is working as well.

better yet.. use THIS version:
http://texturizer.net/phoenix/extensions.html#gestures

ssstraub
 
Posts: 109
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 4:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post Posted December 7th, 2002, 9:13 pm

OK I got it to work. Had to reinstall it for whatever reason. I did use the texturizer one the first time too. I guess something went wrong.

It's working now! Thanks.

Antity
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 8th, 2002, 7:51 am

Post Posted December 8th, 2002, 8:03 am

In case you prefer to use a graphical menu to set your preferences it is possible to activate the preferences menu of mozgest by modifying a file :
$Phoenix_install_dir/chrome/mozgest/content/content.rdf

here is how i got it to work: i downloaded the mozgest extension, it told me to restart the browser. i closed the browser, and changed all the lines like this one in the file
Code: Select all
<RDF:li resource="chrome://browser/content/pref/preftree.xul"/>

to
Code: Select all
<RDF:li resource="chrome://browser/content/pref/pref.xul"/>


and then restarted the browser.
if by accident you restart the browser before changing the file, the modification won't work anymore (it didn't for me maybe you will be lucky), all you have to do is "reinstall" the gestures extension and change the file before restarting the browser this time :)

hope that helps

edit :

And before anyone asks, i installed the mouse gesture extension from :
http://texturizer.net/phoenix/extensions.html

netsonic
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 16th, 2003, 11:08 pm

Post Posted January 16th, 2003, 11:15 pm

1.before anyone asks, i installed the mouse gesture extension from :
http://texturizer.net/phoenix/extensions.html

2.restart your broswer

3.close it.

4.go to

chrome\overlayinfo\browser\content

open overlays.rdf
chrome://browser/content/pref/preftree.xul
to
chrome://browser/content/pref/pref.xul


Good Luck :)

Ricebowl

User avatar
 
Posts: 199
Joined: January 30th, 2003, 2:46 pm

Post Posted January 30th, 2003, 3:33 pm

Sometimes my gestures don't register. Does anyone know why, or is it just buggy?

priior

User avatar
 
Posts: 374
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 3:45 pm
Location: montreal

Post Posted January 30th, 2003, 7:13 pm

i reverted back tot he previous version (.3.4 i think) and the all the mouse gestures are working now.

(i had a similar problem.. my first gesture didnt register)

Ricebowl

User avatar
 
Posts: 199
Joined: January 30th, 2003, 2:46 pm

Post Posted January 30th, 2003, 9:45 pm

I thought that version didn't work with Phoenix?

priior

User avatar
 
Posts: 374
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 3:45 pm
Location: montreal

Post Posted January 30th, 2003, 9:53 pm

that's what the website leads you to believe... but it works for me :)

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest