MozillaZine

"ij" all over the web. what does it mean!?

Talk about the native Mac OS X browser.

Moderator: Camino Developers

haleakalari

User avatar
 
Posts: 108
Joined: October 28th, 2007, 12:52 pm
Location: new york

Post Posted May 13th, 2012, 11:47 pm

exhibit a (wikipedia mobile): http://i.imgur.com/kaPiR.png
"ijJump back a section"

exhibit b (twitter): http://i.imgur.com/JmXwc.png
"Back to top ij"

exhibit c (tumblr): http://i.imgur.com/jy9BQ.png
"IJ Home"

why is 'ij' prefacing or tacked on as suffix to all these links?
why are there "ij's" all over the web?
what kind of 'inside joke' is this?
why are they doing this to me?
is it a vast conspiracy?

please, someone enlighten me.
the bemonstering of your ganache awaits!

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19878
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted May 14th, 2012, 6:17 am

In the case of Wikipedia, the characters you are seeing are supposed to be an up arrow. So, I am guessing that either the font you are using is corrupt, or doesn't support that character.

Is there any reason you decided this should be in AfterDark and not Support?
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

haleakalari

User avatar
 
Posts: 108
Joined: October 28th, 2007, 12:52 pm
Location: new york

Post Posted May 14th, 2012, 6:52 am

smsmith wrote:In the case of Wikipedia, the characters you are seeing are supposed to be an up arrow. So, I am guessing that either the font you are using is corrupt, or doesn't support that character.

Is there any reason you decided this should be in AfterDark and not Support?


it didn't really seems like a support question and it didn't seem to fit anywhere else either. and thanks for the answer! it seems to be a camino-specific problem. you're right.
the bemonstering of your ganache awaits!

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19878
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted May 14th, 2012, 7:53 am

I'll move this over to the Camino forum for you, then.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

haleakalari

User avatar
 
Posts: 108
Joined: October 28th, 2007, 12:52 pm
Location: new york

Post Posted May 14th, 2012, 8:02 am

problem solved. set unicode fonts to free serif and free mono.
the bemonstering of your ganache awaits!

cflawson

User avatar
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: December 26th, 2004, 2:54 pm
Location: Flying over your house in a red, white, and blue jet

Post Posted May 14th, 2012, 8:43 pm

I'll bet whatever font you were using before won't pass Font Book validation. (Alternatively, it might simply be missing that particular character.)

cl

haleakalari

User avatar
 
Posts: 108
Joined: October 28th, 2007, 12:52 pm
Location: new york

Post Posted May 14th, 2012, 10:19 pm

cflawson wrote:I'll bet whatever font you were using before won't pass Font Book validation. (Alternatively, it might simply be missing that particular character.)

cl


strangely enough, font book says all my fonts are valid (no warnings or errors). i was using times and courier for unicode before, i guess they are missing that pesky little glyph :lol: free serif and free mono seem to be doing fantastically though.
the bemonstering of your ganache awaits!

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted May 15th, 2012, 1:09 am

haleakalari wrote:strangely enough, font book says all my fonts are valid (no warnings or errors). i was using times and courier for unicode before, i guess they are missing that pesky little glyph

The browser will look for an adequate substitute font on the system; that is, the whole font-fallback mechanisme will kick in.

I suspect your font-caches might be corrupt or in bad humour. Starting your Mac in 'safe mode' as documented in this Apple KB article will clear those up.

haleakalari

User avatar
 
Posts: 108
Joined: October 28th, 2007, 12:52 pm
Location: new york

Post Posted May 15th, 2012, 8:46 am

phiw13 wrote:I suspect your font-caches might be corrupt or in bad humour. Starting your Mac in 'safe mode' as documented in this Apple KB article will clear those up.


thanks. haven't cleared my font caches in at-least a month.
the bemonstering of your ganache awaits!

Return to Camino


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests